2nd Test, Rawalpindi, November 28 - December 01, 1996, New Zealand tour of Pakistan
249 & 168

Pakistan won by an innings and 13 runs

Player Of The Match
4/64 & 7/66
Player Of The Series
157 runs
New Zealand 1st Innings
Pakistan 1st Innings
New Zealand 2nd Innings
Match Flow
New Zealand 1st Innings 
Bryan Young lbw b Mushtaq Ahmed3967935058.20
Justin Vaughan lbw b Mohammad Zahid1232502037.50
Adam Parore lbw b Mohammad Zahid321000150.00
Stephen Fleming c †Moin Khan b Mushtaq Ahmed6710919011061.46
Nathan Astle c †Moin Khan b Mushtaq Ahmed1112142091.66
Mark Greatbatch c Saeed Anwar b Mushtaq Ahmed22900100.00
Chris Cairns c Mohammad Wasim b Mushtaq Ahmed923430039.13
Chris Harris lbw b Mohammad Zahid1330033.33
Lee Germon (c)†c †Moin Khan b Mohammad Zahid551481549037.16
Dipak Patel c Ijaz Ahmed b Mushtaq Ahmed2150772042.00
Simon Doull not out 1670016.66
Extras(b 4, lb 14, nb 10)28
TOTAL74 Ov (RR: 3.36)249
Fall of wickets: 1-33 (Justin Vaughan), 2-43 (Adam Parore), 3-59 (Bryan Young), 4-77 (Nathan Astle), 5-87 (Mark Greatbatch), 6-110 (Chris Cairns), 7-111 (Chris Harris), 8-192 (Stephen Fleming), 9-241 (Lee Germon), 10-249 (Dipak Patel)
Mohammad Zahid2156443.04---09
Shahid Nazir932302.55---00
Mohammad Akram1214804.00---00
Mushtaq Ahmed3038762.90---00
Saleem Malik20904.50---01
Pakistan 1st Innings 
Saeed Anwar (c)c Doull b Cairns14921431120069.62
Zahoor Elahi c Fleming b Cairns2680033.33
Ijaz Ahmed lbw b Cairns12519827319163.13
Mushtaq Ahmed lbw b Harris421011405041.58
Inzamam-ul-Haq c Vaughan b Harris1450025.00
Saleem Malik  b Cairns781592138049.05
Mohammad Wasim c Cairns b Doull522270022.72
Moin Khan lbw b Doull216260012.50
Shahid Nazir c & b Cairns1040421025.00
Mohammad Zahid lbw b Astle013000.00
Mohammad Akram not out 016000.00
Extras(lb 14, nb 2)16
TOTAL126.4 Ov (RR: 3.39)430
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Zahoor Elahi), 2-268 (Ijaz Ahmed), 3-290 (Saeed Anwar), 4-291 (Inzamam-ul-Haq), 5-375 (Mushtaq Ahmed), 6-394 (Mohammad Wasim), 7-398 (Moin Khan), 8-419 (Shahid Nazir), 9-420 (Mohammad Zahid), 10-430 (Saleem Malik)
Simon Doull3178622.77---00
Chris Cairns30.4213754.46---00
Justin Vaughan1717204.23---00
Nathan Astle913113.44---00
Dipak Patel1543302.20---00
Chris Harris2475722.37---00
New Zealand 2nd Innings 
Bryan Young c Zahoor Elahi b Mohammad Zahid611211716050.41
Justin Vaughan lbw b Mohammad Zahid27751224036.00
Adam Parore lbw b Mohammad Zahid627321022.22
Lee Germon (c)† b Mohammad Zahid01229000.00
Mark Greatbatch c Saeed Anwar b Mushtaq Ahmed1930362063.33
Nathan Astle lbw b Mohammad Zahid11826005.55
Stephen Fleming c †Moin Khan b Shahid Nazir415251026.66
Chris Cairns  b Mushtaq Ahmed1118331061.11
Chris Harris lbw b Mohammad Zahid1427383051.85
Dipak Patel lbw b Mohammad Zahid01119000.00
Simon Doull not out 46101066.66
Extras(lb 7, nb 13, w 1)21
TOTAL58 Ov (RR: 2.89)168
Fall of wickets: 1-82 (Justin Vaughan), 2-105 (Adam Parore), 3-109 (Bryan Young), 4-112 (Lee Germon), 5-119 (Nathan Astle), 6-137 (Mark Greatbatch), 7-137 (Stephen Fleming), 8-163 (Chris Cairns), 9-163 (Dipak Patel), 10-168 (Chris Harris)
Mohammad Zahid2036673.30---112
Mohammad Akram721101.57---00
Mushtaq Ahmed2275222.36---01
Shahid Nazir711912.71---00
Saleem Malik201306.50---00
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Thu, 28 Nov - day 1 - New Zealand 1st innings 215/8 (Lee Germon 45*, Dipak Patel 6*)
Fri, 29 Nov - day 2 - Pakistan 1st innings 269/2 (Saeed Anwar 130*, Mushtaq Ahmed 1*)
Sat, 30 Nov - day 3 - New Zealand 2nd innings 69/0 (Bryan Young 38*, Justin Vaughan 26*)
Sun, 01 Dec - day 4 - New Zealand 2nd innings 168 (58 ov) - end of match
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
  • Mohammad Zahid is the first Pakistan player to take 10 wickets on Test debut.
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
TossPakistan, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Mohammad Zahid
Player Of The Series
Saeed Anwar
New Zealand
Stephen Fleming
Series result2-match series drawn 1-1
Match numberTest no. 1342
Match daysday (5-day match)
Test debut
Mohammad Zahid
Mohammad Zahid
TV Umpire
Match Referee
New Zealand Innings
<1 / 3>