Basnahira North 298 for 6 (Dissanayake 88*, Peiris 77, Gunawardene 73, Mendis 4-50) beat Wayamba 198 (Mubarak 57, Pushpakumara 3-37, Vaas 2-22) by 100 runs

After raking up 298 in their alloted 50 overs, Basnahira North's bowlers dismissed Wayamba for 198 to complete a comprehensive 100-run win at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Chaminda Vaas, the Basnahira North captain, opted to bat, and his batsmen capitalised. Avishka Gunawardene's 73 off 62 deliveries set the tone at the top of the order, before Ruwin Peiris and Shanuka Dissanayake added 120 runs for the fifth wicket after Ajantha Mendis had struck three times to leave Basnahira North at 105 for 4 after 20.1 overs.

Peiris also perished to Mendis for 77, but Dissanayake stayed until the end as his team finished with 298 for 6. Dissanayake scored 88, while Mendis bagged 4 for 50. Farveez Maharoof was expensive, returning 0 for 74 runs off his ten overs.

Wayamba's chase came apart in the first over as Vaas struck twice to leave them struggling at 0 for 2. From then on Wayamba were never in the hunt. Jehan Mubarak top scored with 57, but the bowlers picked up wickets regularly to stifle the chase.

Gayan Wijekoon bagged two wickets while offspinner Muthumudalige Pushpakumara removed three late-order batsmen as Wayamba were bowled out for 198. The win put Basnahira North at the top of the points table, with a maximum of ten points from their two games.