1st Test, St John's, Jun 13 - 15 1997, Sri Lanka tour of West Indies
223 & 152
(49.2 ov, target 187)189 & 189/4
West Indies won by 6 wickets
player of the match
Curtly Ambrose
West Indies
Sri Lanka 1st INNINGS
Sanath Jayasuriya  b Hooper851152239273.91
Roshan Mahanama c †Browne b Ambrose14130025.00
Russel Arnold c Williams b Ambrose011000.00
Aravinda de Silva c Walsh b Ambrose0811000.00
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)run out (Ambrose/†Browne)421161536036.20
Hashan Tillakaratne retired hurt 15150020.00
Romesh Kaluwitharana hit wicket b Bishop2378895029.48
Kumar Dharmasena c †Browne b Ambrose2963903046.03
Ravindra Pushpakumara c Reifer b Bishop18130012.50
Sajeewa de Silva c Reifer b Ambrose617291035.29
Muttiah Muralitharan not out 6991066.66
Extras(b 4, lb 11, nb 14)29
TOTAL(68.1 Ov, RR: 3.27)223
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Roshan Mahanama), 2-19 (Russel Arnold), 3-23 (Aravinda de Silva), 4-133 (Arjuna Ranatunga), 4-139* (Hashan Tillakaratne, retired hurt), 5-171 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 6-206 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 7-210 (Ravindra Pushpakumara), 8-216 (Kumar Dharmasena), 9-223 (Sajeewa de Silva)
Curtly Ambrose13.133752.81---05
Ian Bishop1534422.93---02
Courtney Walsh1104604.18---04
Franklyn Rose1023203.20---03
Carl Hooper1924912.57---00
West Indies 1st INNINGS
Sherwin Campbell c Muralitharan b KSC de Silva501171593042.73
Stuart Williams c Arnold b Pushpakumara21193630110.52
Floyd Reifer c †Kaluwitharana b Pushpakumara2961794047.54
Brian Lara c †Kaluwitharana b Pushpakumara069000.00
Carl Hooper lbw b Muralitharan2754855050.00
Roland Holder c & b Dharmasena2852595053.84
Courtney Browne c Jayasuriya b Muralitharan01216000.00
Ian Bishop  b Muralitharan526360019.23
Curtly Ambrose not out 1126321142.30
Franklyn Rose  b Muralitharan056000.00
Courtney Walsh (c) b Muralitharan011000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 6, nb 8)18
TOTAL(60.4 Ov, RR: 3.11)189
Fall of wickets: 1-40 (Stuart Williams), 2-94 (Floyd Reifer), 3-97 (Brian Lara), 4-122 (Sherwin Campbell), 5-168 (Carl Hooper), 6-168 (Roland Holder), 7-172 (Courtney Browne), 8-189 (Ian Bishop), 9-189 (Franklyn Rose), 10-189 (Courtney Walsh)
Sajeewa de Silva1315614.30---01
Ravindra Pushpakumara1526234.13---05
Kumar Dharmasena841912.37---00
Muttiah Muralitharan23.4133451.43---02
Sanath Jayasuriya10808.00---00
Sri Lanka 2nd INNINGS
Sanath Jayasuriya c Hooper b Ambrose033000.00
Roshan Mahanama c †Browne b Ambrose1433612042.42
Russel Arnold c †Browne b Ambrose1229292041.37
Aravinda de Silva c †Browne b Bishop4752777190.38
Arjuna Ranatunga (c)c Rose b Bishop1317442076.47
Romesh Kaluwitharana c †Browne b Walsh1622353072.72
Kumar Dharmasena c Walsh b Rose3147684065.95
Ravindra Pushpakumara c Williams b Rose814260157.14
Sajeewa de Silva not out 24130050.00
Muttiah Muralitharan c Williams b Rose022000.00
Hashan Tillakaratne absent hurt-----0.00
Extras(lb 2, nb 7)9
TOTAL(35 Ov, RR: 4.34)152
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sanath Jayasuriya), 2-17 (Russel Arnold), 3-41 (Roshan Mahanama), 4-85 (Arjuna Ranatunga), 5-91 (Aravinda de Silva), 6-113 (Romesh Kaluwitharana), 7-140 (Ravindra Pushpakumara), 8-151 (Kumar Dharmasena), 9-152 (Muttiah Muralitharan)
Curtly Ambrose904134.55---02
Courtney Walsh1003713.70---03
Franklyn Rose914334.77---01
Ian Bishop702924.14---00
West Indies 2nd INNINGS (target: 187 runs)
Sherwin Campbell c Mahanama b Muralitharan791451907054.48
Stuart Williams c sub b Muralitharan8311815512270.33
Floyd Reifer  b Dharmasena13743002.70
Brian Lara c sub b Muralitharan42210200.00
Carl Hooper not out 64801150.00
Roland Holder not out 001000.00
Extras(b 4, lb 2, nb 9, w 1)16
TOTAL(49.2 Ov, RR: 3.83)189/4
Fall of wickets: 1-160 (Stuart Williams), 2-178 (Sherwin Campbell), 3-182 (Brian Lara), 4-183 (Floyd Reifer)
Sajeewa de Silva923503.88---11
Ravindra Pushpakumara803804.75---01
Muttiah Muralitharan21.257233.37---06
Sanath Jayasuriya401704.25---00
Kumar Dharmasena722113.00---01
Antigua Recreation Ground, St John's, Antigua
TossWest Indies, elected to field first
SeriesSri Lanka tour of West Indies
Player Of The Match
Curtly Ambrose
Curtly Ambrose
Series resultWest Indies led the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberTest no. 1369
Match daysday(5-day match)
Test debut
Floyd Reifer
Floyd Reifer
West Indies Image
Lloyd Barker
New Zealand Image
Steve Dunne
TV Umpire
West Indies Image
Pat Whyte
Match Referee
Pakistan Image
Talat Ali
Fri, 13 Jun - day 1 -West Indies 1st innings 56/1 (Sherwin Campbell 24*, Floyd Reifer 10*, null ov)
Sat, 14 Jun - day 2 -Sri Lanka 2nd innings 151/8 (Sajeewa de Silva 2*, null ov)
Sun, 15 Jun - day 3 -West Indies 2nd innings 189/4 (49.2 ov) - end of match
Day 1
  • HP Tillakaratne retired hurt at 139/4 (fractured forearm after being struck by Walsh).
  • With KSC de Silva's wicket Ambrose reached the mark of 300 wickets in Tests
Day 2
  • Bishop was dropped when 0 by Mahanama off Dharmasena.
  • In the Sri Lankan 2nd innings the ball was replaced after 3.1 overs.