Final (N), Cape Town, Feb 21 2009, Standard Bank Pro20 Series
(20 ov, target 148)125/8
Cape Cobras won by 22 runs
Player Of The Match
87* (62)
Cape Cobras INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Graeme Smith (c) b Coetzee2530040.00
Herschelle Gibbs not out 87627974140.32
Jean-Paul Duminy c Hendricks b van Schalkwyk13111720118.18
Justin Ontong c Bailey b Elgar21212311100.00
Rory Kleinveldt c Coetzee b van Schalkwyk971510128.57
Henry Davids c Elgar b Coetzee2560040.00
Vernon Philander not out 991400100.00
Extras(lb 1, w 3)4
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 7.35, 79 Mts)147/5
Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Graeme Smith, 0.5 ov), 2-29 (Jean-Paul Duminy, 4.6 ov), 3-69 (Justin Ontong, 11.2 ov), 4-101 (Rory Kleinveldt, 14.5 ov), 5-106 (Henry Davids, 16.2 ov)
Jandre Coetzee402927.25102110
Cornelius de Villiers302508.3385000
Shadley van Schalkwyk402426.00101110
Dillon du Preez402807.0071100
Ryan Bailey201708.5031100
Thandi Tshabalala1013013.0011100
Dean Elgar201015.0040010
Eagles INNINGS (target: 148 runs from 20 overs)
Morne van Wyk c Davids b Kleinveldt1291420133.33
Rilee Rossouw c & b Langeveldt3680050.00
Dean Elgar c Langeveldt b Philander34305321113.33
Boeta Dippenaar (c)c Smith b Henderson1923263082.60
Ryan Bailey c Duminy b Philander712120058.33
Dillon du Preez c †Puttick b Langeveldt26162621162.50
Reeza Hendricks c Ontong b Philander1416220087.50
Cornelius de Villiers  b Langeveldt011000.00
Shadley van Schalkwyk not out 4560080.00
Jandre Coetzee not out 1220050.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, w 2)5
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 6.25, 88 Mts)125/8
Did not bat: Thandi Tshabalala 
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Rilee Rossouw, 1.5 ov), 2-19 (Morne van Wyk, 2.6 ov), 3-56 (Boeta Dippenaar, 9.3 ov), 4-72 (Ryan Bailey, 12.3 ov), 5-88 (Dean Elgar, 14.3 ov), 6-118 (Dillon du Preez, 18.2 ov), 7-118 (Cornelius de Villiers, 18.3 ov), 8-122 (Reeza Hendricks, 19.2 ov)
Rory Kleinveldt403218.0083100
Charl Langeveldt402035.00122010
Roger Telemachus301906.3382010
Claude Henderson402616.5050100
Justin Ontong20804.0060000
Vernon Philander301735.6672000
Newlands, Cape Town
TossCape Cobras, elected to bat first
SeriesStandard Bank Pro20 Series
Player Of The Match
Herschelle Gibbs
Herschelle Gibbs
Charl Langeveldt
Charl Langeveldt
Series resultCape Cobras won the 2008/09 Standard Bank Pro20 Series
Hours of play (local time)18.00 start, First Session 18.00-19.20 Interval 19.20-19.40, Second Session 19.40-21.00
Match days21 February 2009 - night (20-over match)
South Africa Image
Karl Hurter
South Africa Image
Shaun George
TV Umpire
South Africa Image
Murray Brown
Reserve Umpire
South Africa Image
Earl Hendrikse
Match Referee
South Africa Image
Tiffie Barnes
  • Cape Cobras Innings
  • 50 up in 36 mins off 58 balls including 5 fours and a six
  • 100 up in 55 mins off 90 balls including 9 fours and 3 sixes
  • HH Gibbs 50 in 55 mins off 44 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes
  • Official Attendance: 16,551
  • Eagles Innings
  • 50 up in 33 mins off 49 balls including 6 fours and a six
  • 100 up in 68 mins off 98 balls including 9 fours and a six