Queenstown, Mar 20 - 23 2005, State Championship
168 & 274
(target 199)244 & 147
Wellington won by 51 runs
Wellington 1st INNINGS
Matthew Bell (c)lbw b Sewell011000.00
Luke Woodcock c Somerville b Todd1840652045.00
Michael Parlane c †Hopkins b Scott2357672040.35
Sam Fairley c †Hopkins b Scott1374860017.56
Jesse Ryder c †Hopkins b Somerville8111115112072.97
Neal Parlane c Mohammad Wasim b Somerville537491013.51
Chris Nevin c †Hopkins b Sewell1650016.66
Graham Murray c Eathorne b Somerville044000.00
Mark Gillespie not out 1018241055.55
Jeetan Patel lbw b Sewell11114009.09
Azhar Abbas c Eathorne b Sewell011000.00
Extras(b 3, lb 5, nb 6, w 2)16
TOTAL(59 Ov, RR: 2.84)168
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Matthew Bell), 2-42 (Luke Woodcock), 3-42 (Michael Parlane), 4-115 (Sam Fairley), 5-150 (Neal Parlane), 6-151 (Chris Nevin), 7-152 (Graham Murray), 8-157 (Jesse Ryder), 9-168 (Jeetan Patel), 10-168 (Azhar Abbas, 58.6 ov)
David Sewell1954242.21---00
Warren McSkimming1333002.30---10
Bradley Scott1233322.75---14
Greg Todd522915.80---02
William Somerville1022632.60---00
Otago 1st INNINGS
Chris Gaffaney c †Nevin b Gillespie491041596147.11
Mohammad Wasim c Woodcock b Azhar Abbas1644641036.36
Aaron Redmond lbw b Gillespie2862864045.16
Greg Todd c †Nevin b Woodcock32841244038.09
Gareth Hopkins (c)†c †Nevin b Gillespie743621016.27
Sean Eathorne lbw b Ryder938500023.68
Nathan McCullum lbw b Woodcock0912000.00
Warren McSkimming c Ryder b Patel2562623040.32
Bradley Scott c Ryder b Azhar Abbas43871277049.42
William Somerville  b Azhar Abbas1643601037.20
David Sewell not out 314140021.42
Extras(lb 10, nb 6)16
TOTAL(97.2 Ov, RR: 2.50)244
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Mohammad Wasim), 2-93 (Aaron Redmond), 3-95 (Chris Gaffaney), 4-125 (Gareth Hopkins), 5-149 (Sean Eathorne), 6-149 (Greg Todd), 7-150 (Nathan McCullum), 8-193 (Warren McSkimming), 9-237 (Bradley Scott), 10-244 (William Somerville, 97.2 ov)
Mark Gillespie29107732.65---06
Azhar Abbas28.276032.11---00
Jeetan Patel1123813.45---00
Graham Murray53501.00---00
Luke Woodcock1533322.20---00
Jesse Ryder932112.33---00
Wellington 2nd INNINGS
Matthew Bell (c)c Todd b Sewell35871294040.22
Luke Woodcock c †Hopkins b Scott33841042039.28
Michael Parlane c †Hopkins b McSkimming34811125041.97
Sam Fairley c Eathorne b Redmond471511902031.12
Jesse Ryder c †Hopkins b McSkimming425240016.00
Neal Parlane c †Hopkins b Redmond651211409053.71
Chris Nevin c Gaffaney b Redmond1650016.66
Graham Murray c McCullum b Somerville065000.00
Mark Gillespie lbw b Sewell816150150.00
Jeetan Patel c †Hopkins b Scott1633421048.48
Azhar Abbas not out 1436411038.88
Extras(b 7, lb 5, nb 4, w 1)17
TOTAL(107 Ov, RR: 2.56)274
Fall of wickets: 0-1 (Matthew Bell), 1-67, 2-78, 3-89, 4-196, 5-203, 6-205, 7-206, 8-221, 9-249, 10-274
David Sewell2044822.40---00
Warren McSkimming3076522.16---00
Bradley Scott1544923.26---13
William Somerville2555912.36---00
Nathan McCullum401102.75---00
Aaron Redmond1142432.18---01
Greg Todd20603.00---00
Otago 2nd INNINGS (target: 199 runs)
Sean Eathorne  b Patel41060040.00
Mohammad Wasim c †Nevin b Ryder37304870123.33
Aaron Redmond c Bell b Patel833380024.24
Greg Todd c & b Patel931472029.03
Gareth Hopkins (c)†not out 441281353034.37
Chris Gaffaney lbw b Ryder1749593034.69
Nathan McCullum c Woodcock b Patel4781057.14
Warren McSkimming lbw b Ryder212160016.66
Bradley Scott c Gillespie b Patel1128290139.28
William Somerville c Bell b Patel0710000.00
David Sewell c Bell b Ryder23642005.55
Extras(b 2, lb 4, nb 3)9
TOTAL(61.2 Ov, RR: 2.39)147
Fall of wickets: 1-52, 2-59, 3-73, 4-80, 5-84, 6-88, 7-102, 8-120, 9-126, 10-147
Mark Gillespie603505.83---00
Azhar Abbas411403.50---00
Jesse Ryder14.242341.60---03
Graham Murray711902.71---00
Luke Woodcock1261801.50---00
Jeetan Patel1843261.77---00
Queenstown Events Centre
TossOtago, elected to field first
SeriesState Championship
Match daysday (4-day match)
FC debut
William Somerville
William Somerville
New Zealand Image
Dave Quested
New Zealand Image
Mike George
PointsWellington 6, Otago 2
Sun, 20 Mar - day 1 - Otago 1st innings 9/0 (Chris Gaffaney 4*, Mohammad Wasim 4*, 3 ov)
Mon, 21 Mar - day 2 - Wellington 2nd innings 1/0 (Luke Woodcock 0*, Michael Parlane 0*, 1.2 ov)
Tue, 22 Mar - day 3 - Wellington 2nd innings 268/9 (Matthew Bell 32*, Azhar Abbas 12*, 103 ov)
Wed, 23 Mar - day 4 - Otago 2nd innings 147 (61.2 ov) - end of match
  • MD Bell (2) retired hurt on 1* from 1/0 to 249/9
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions