Saurashtra 89 for 4 (Pathak 25, Paul 3-22) beat Bengal 86 (Saha 25*, Odedra 4-16, Dhurv 3-23) by six wickets
Saurashtra claimed a historic win, their first at a national-level tournament, with a six-wicket victory over Bengal in the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy, India's premier domestic one-day competition.
It was the bowlers that set up the win in Visakhapatnam, with Bengal shot out for a paltry 86 after deciding to bat first. Jayesh Odedra wrecked the Bengal top order with three quick wickets, and new-ball partner Sandip Maniar chipped in with one wicket as Bengal were reduced to 15 for 4.
Shukla and Debabrata Das led a brief resistance with 29-run stand, and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha was the only other batsman to reach double figures. Saha hung around for 60 balls during his undefeated 25, and tailenders Avik Chowdhury and Ranadeb Bose also stayed at the crease, but runs came at a slow trickle. In all, Bengal played out 39.2 overs, scoring only 86. Odedra's ten overs fetched four wickets, while conceding only 16 runs. Left-arm spinner Dhurv took 3 for 23, while Balkrishna Jadeja, Ravindra Jadeja and Maniar shared the remaining three.
Chirag Pathak made 25 at the top of the order during Saurashtra's chase, and despite Shib Paul's three wickets, Saurashtra reached their target with 27 overs to spare.
The win capped an impressive season for Saurashtra; they had earlier reached the semi-final of the Ranji Trophy.