Maroof named Pakistan Women T20 captain; Mir retains role in ODIs

Bismah Maroof drives down the ground WICB Media/Randy Brooks

Pakistan have opted for split-captaincy of their women's side, with offspinner Sana Mir retaining the role for ODIs and middle-order batsman Bismah Maroof taking over the T20 side for the tour of England in June. The decision was taken after Mir stepped down as captain of the T20 side after the Women's World T20 earlier this year.

There were six changes from the 50-over squad that last played in October 2015, in West Indies, including a call-up for the uncapped 24-year old Aiman Anwer. All of the inclusions - Maroof, Nahida Khan, Muneeba Ali, Sadia Yousuf, wicketkeeper Sidra Nawaz and Nain Abidi - represented Pakistan in the World T20. Pakistan were in with a chance of making the semi-final, but a defeat to England in their final league match knocked them out.

Javeria Khan, who had fractured her right thumb after being hit by a bouncer in the World T20, had recovered and was named vice-captain of the T20 team. Maroof was named vice-captain of the ODI team.

Ayesha Zafar, who was at the World T20, was put on standby along with Rabiya Shah and Maham Tariq. Of the 15 women who played that tournament in India, only Aliya Riaz and Diana Baig were not in the squad for the England tour.

The series comprises three ODIs, all of which contribute to the Women's Championship where Pakistan are ranked second from bottom, and two T20s. It begins in Leicester on June 20 and ends in Southampton on July 5.

Pakistan ODI and T20 squad: Javeria Khan, Nahida Khan, Sidra Ameen, Bismah Maroof (T20 capt), Muneeba Ali, Sana Mir (ODI capt), Nida Dar, Iram Javed, Asmavia Iqbal, Anam Amin, Sania Iqbal, Sadia Yousuf, Aiman Anwer, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Nain Abidi