Did You Know?

Who is the only bowler to bowl two Super Overs in the IPL and win both games?

And what's the fewest runs conceded in an IPL Super Over?

Bharath Seervi
Jasprit Bumrah appeals unsuccessfully for an lbw, Mumbai Indians v Rising Pune Supergiant, Qualifier 1, IPL, Mumbai, May 16, 2017

Elimination man: if the match is tied, throw the ball to Jasprit Bumrah  •  BCCI

9 Number of tied IPL matches. The Super Over was used each time to decide the winner. The first Super Over was played between the Rajasthan Royals and the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2009, and the most recent one was last year between the Mumbai Indians and the Sunrisers Hyderabad. Five have been won by the team batting first.
3 KKR and the Royals have been involved in three Super Overs, the most among teams in the IPL. Two of those matches were against each other - in Cape Town in 2009 and in Abu Dhabi in 2014. Royals won both.
2 Bowlers who have bowled in the Super Over more than once in the IPL - Jasprit Bumrah and James Faulkner. The six runs he conceded to the Gujarat Lions in 2017 is the lowest overall in a Super Over (he equalled Mitchell Johnson's 2015 record) while the eight he conceded to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2019 is the lowest scored in a Super Over when batting first. Mumbai won both matches.
20 Most runs scored in a Super Over, by Sunrisers against RCB in 2013, off Vinay Kumar. Cameron White made 17 of those runs.
1 Instance of teams tying for runs in a Super Over. In the Royals versus KKR game in 2014, both teams scored 11, however, Royals won the game as they had hit more boundaries.
16 The highest target chased down in a Super Over in the IPL, by Royals against KKR in 2009 in the first IPL tie. Yusuf Pathan smashed 18 off four balls from Ajantha Mendis to seal that win.
12 Super Overs bowled by overseas bowlers, out of the 18 overs bowled in nine such matches. Among the Indian bowlers who have bowled Super Overs, other than Bumrah (twice), only Kamran Khan ended up on the winning side (for the Royals in 2009). Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Prasidh Krishna are the other three Indian bowlers.
10 The lowest score successfully defended in a Super Over in the IPL, by Delhi Capitals' Kagiso Rabada, who conceded only seven against KKR's big-hitting Andre Russell in 2019.
4 Spinners who have bowled in Super Overs - Mendis, Sunil Narine, Muttiah Muralitharan and Rashid Khan. Unfortunately, all four were in defeats.
3 Number of times Chris Gayle has batted in Super Overs in the IPL, the most by a batsman. He appeared twice for RCB and once for KKR. Five other players have batted twice in the Super Overs - Manish Pandey, Brendon McCullum, Kieron Pollard, Steven Smith and Shane Watson.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo @SeerviBharath