Matches (13)
T20 World Cup (3)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
SL vs WI [W] (1)

Jason Holder, Darren Bravo return to Kraigg Brathwaite-led West Indies Test side

Several performers against Bangladesh, including Kyle Mayers, retain their place in the side

Mominul Haque and Kraigg Brathwaite at the toss, Bangladesh vs West Indies, 1st Test, Chattogram, Day 1, February 3, 2021

Mominul Haque and Kraigg Brathwaite at the toss  •  BCB

West Indies have named their first Test squad since their captaincy swap, with outgoing leader Jason Holder and Darren Bravo both featuring in the Kraigg Brathwaite-led side.
Though they return, the squad announced by Cricket West Indies for the first Test against Sri Lanka also retains several "second-string" players who starred in West Indies' series win in Bangladesh, including the hero of the first Test, Kyle Mayers. Ten players had pulled out of that tour due to concerns over travelling during the pandemic.
Jermaine Blackwood is the vice-captain. The first Test will be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium from March 21 to 25.
Speaking on the squad, chief selector Roger Harper said: "It is good to be able to put together a Test squad with a number of players coming off very good performances in their last series in Bangladesh. It is a fantastic opportunity to build on the good work that was done in Bangladesh. It is very important to continue the process of working hard, playing with great passion, playing with determination and a great desire to succeed. Doing that consistently will bring us the right results."
"A number of players seized the opportunity that the tour of Bangladesh presented and booked a place for themselves in the Test team for this series. This now means that there is keen competition for places which should drive better individual performances and that of the team. I also think that these players are looking forward to displaying their skills on home soil."
Sri Lanka play two Tests in Antigua, with the second Test starting from March 29.
West Indies squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican