Fast bowler wins state award

Tait voted South Australia's best

Cricinfo staff

April 12, 2007

Text size: A | A

Shaun Tait's form was a rare highlight for South Australia © Getty Images

Shaun Tait has been named South Australia's best player for 2006-07, capping off an excellent season in which he broke into Australia's one-day line-up. Tait, who is in the West Indies with the World Cup squad, was chosen by South Australia's selectors as the winner of the Lord Hampden Trophy after taking 29 Pura Cup wickets at 27.10.

Tait's season was interrupted by his call-up to the national side but he was the Redbacks' most dangerous bowler when available and claimed 12 Ford Ranger Cup victims at 21.08. He was also named in the Australian Cricketers' Association Pura Cup All-Star team - the only South Australian to make the 12-man squad.

His form was one of the few highlights in 2006-07 for South Australia, who finished last on the Pura Cup table and fourth in the limited-overs competition. The disappointing efforts prompted the resignations of both their coach, Wayne Phillips, and their captain, Darren Lehmann.

Shane Deitz won the Neil Dansie Trophy for the Redbacks' most valuable player, judged for both on-field and off-field contributions. Deitz was arguably South Australia's most consistent first-class batsman for the season, passing fifty six times and averaging 41.56 as well as taking over the wicketkeeping duties from Graham Manou.

Ryan Harris finally had a solid, consistent season for the Redbacks, earning him the award for the most-improved state player. The title of best player in the South Australia women's team went to Kris Britt, the allrounder who was rewarded with a place in the national squad for 2007-08.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Country Fixtures Country Results
1st Test: Australia v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC) - Oct 22-26
Pakistan 454 Australia 285/8
Elimination Final: NSW v Queensland at Sydney - Oct 24
NSW won by 2 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)
Final: NSW v Western Aust at Sydney
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT)
2nd Test: Australia v Pakistan at Abu Dhabi
Oct 30-Nov 3, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 02:00 EDT | 01:00 CDT | 23:00 PDT)
Victoria v NSW at Melbourne
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 23:30 GMT | 19:30 EDT | 18:30 CDT | 16:30 PDT)
South Aust v Queensland at Adelaide
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 00:00 GMT | 20:00 EDT | 19:00 CDT | 17:00 PDT)
Western Aust v Tasmania at Perth
Oct 31-Nov 3, 2014 (10:30 local | 02:30 GMT | 22:30 EDT | 21:30 CDT | 19:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days