April 11, 2008

New Zealand announce volunteer awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

New Zealand Cricket has announced the winners of the first Development Awards which recognise the efforts of volunteers in school and club cricket.

Bryan Scott, of Hinuera Cricket Club, Matamata, Northern Districts, won the Best Club Cricket Initiative, while the Best Women's Cricket Initiative was snapped up by Peter Hensman (Havelock North, Hawke’s Bay – Central Districts).

David Ferguson, from Westlake Boys' High School in Auckland picked up the Best Youth Cricket Initiative, with the Best Junior Cricket Initiative picked up by Peter Burke of Burnside West University Cricket Club in Christchurch.

The Spirit of Cricket Award went to Bob Pratt of Westport, Buller Cricket in Canterbury.

RSS Feeds: Jenny Thompson

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.