June 17, 2011

European Championships

Portugal led by 64-year-old Saiyad

Andrew McGlashan

Portugal’s captain Akbar Saiyad, who was born in Mozambique, will aim to show age is no barrier when he leads his country at the age of 64 in the ICC European Division Two Championship in Belgium.

The winners of the 11-team tournament – Switzerland have recently withdrawn from the event – will progress to Division One which will be held in the Channel Islands in July while there is an ultimate prize of a play at the global Twenty20 qualifiers in UAE next March.

At the other end of the age spectrum to Saiyad is 15-year-old Sebastian Aycock from the Isle of Man who will be the youngest player in the tournament while Luxembourg twins Timothy and James Barker are also 15.

Isle of Man are the top ranked team in Group A while Spain takes that honour in Group B although it is expected to be a closely fought tournament.


Austria Amar Naeem (capt), Muhammad Akhtar, Imran Asif, Amar Deep, Erwin Grasinger, Lakmal Kasthuriarachchige, Satish Kaul, Benjamin Loader, Tiran Indika Perera, Wasif Saluja, Andrew Simpson-Parker, Nandeep Soggi, Satyam Subhash, Amandeep Amandeep, Syed Qamar Abbas Rizvi, Shivam Subhash

Belgium Andre Wagener (capt), Shaheryar Butt, Jamie Farmiloe, Javed Iqbal, Amir Iqbal, Nadeem Khan, Faisal Khaliq, Shaival Mehta, Sheraz Sheikh Muhammad, Shahid Muhammad, Simon Newport, , Ali Raza, Abdul Rehman, Nirvam Shah, Shahzad Jillani, Akshat Sanghvi, Sebastien Shukla, Waqas Shafiq, Charles Wright

Cyprus Michalis Kyriacou (capt), Dhanuka Agathocleous, Dineja Agathocleous, Babar Ayub, Alan Broadbent, Nimal Durayalage, Syed Hussain, Stelios Michaelides, Andrew Mulkern, Yasir Nazir, Georgios Papaonisiforou, Niroshan Pelawattha, Malik Tariq, Mohamedriyaz Kajalwala, Muhammad Khan, Christos Markides, Sakhawat Rubel, Sampath Tsangarides

Finland Jonathan Scamans (capt), Madhu Bhandari Amrik Bhatia, Shakil Pervage Bin Islam, Zakiullah Kamal, Zahidullah Kamal, Ekhpelwak Kuchey, Shidhu Chanrakant, Kanade, Bilal Khan, Obaidullah Sadiqui, Michael Shaw, Roholah Sadiqui, Muhammad Tariq Sarfraz, Shabir Ahmad Sheerzad, Sebastian Knight, Zahoor Ahmad Khan

Hellas Mehmood Ahmed, Stamatios Giourgas, Spyridon Goustis, Oliver Hutton, Iordanis Kontarinis, Spyridon Kontos, Andreas Koutsoufis, Anastasios Manousis, Christos Molinaris, StavrosNikitaras, Georgios-Chry Stogiannos, Alexandros Souvlakis, Georgios Toulantas, Dimitrios Triantafillidis

Isle of Man Sebastian Aycock, Ross Berry, Daniel Hawke, Christopher Hawke, Jaco Jansen, Daniel Kniveton, Richard Kniveton, Shaun Kelly, Peter Lewis, Gareth Morris, Garreth Roome, Max Stokoe, Arne Van Den Berg, Oliver Webster

Luxembourg William Heath (capt), Timothy Andrews, Timothy Barker, James Barker, Wayne Codd, Graham Cope, Taral Desai, Sebastian Finch, Nishith Gandhi, Deepak Gianchandani, Piran Merkl, Joost Mees, Anand Pattabiraman, Tony Whiteman, Saravanan Narayanan

Malta Andrew Lenard, Samuel Aquilina, Justin Brooke, Michael Caruana, Malcolm Crabbe, Balakrishnan Dhandapani, Joydeep Ghose Roy, John Grima, Darren Grech, Nowell Khosla, Andrew Naudi, Mark George Sacco, Ronnie Sacco, Anthony Slater, Sarfraz Ali, David Borg Known As Newton, Robert Krishna, Javeed Shah, Frankie Spiteri

Portugal Akbar Saiyad (capt) Zafar Ali, Paulo Buccimazza, Syed Bukhari, Nadeem Butt, Abu Butt, Shahzad Hassan, Khalid Izaz, Rizwan Khaliq, Babar Khan, Intesab Medhi, Muhammad Mirza, Nadeem Nazar, Muhammad Shoaib, Ricardo, Antunes, Carlo Buccimazza, Silkesh Deuchande, Jose Ricardo Pais

Spain Sajad Ali,Muhammad Shafique Ali, Gary Crompton, Mohib Hussein, Tanveer Iqbal, Muhammad Irshad Khan, Armaghan Khan, Farhat Mahmood, James Morgan, Christian Munoz-Mills, Talat Nadeem Ali, Mark Spencer, Wasim Ur Rehman Khan, Luis Pedro, Venus Valiente, Faran Afzal, Mohammed Akmal, Shoaib Hussein, Gurmeet Singh

Sweden Piyal Rahman (capt), Imran Amjad, Usman Azim, Sanaullah Habibzai, Azam Khalil, Maqsood Khawaja, Azam Mohammad, Ewan Prezens, Sunny Sharma, Sadat Sidiqi, Christopher Tebbutt, Aman Zahid, Bilal Zaigham, Hassan Zaigham, Adnan Raza, Sandeep Sharma, Noman Zahid


Andrew McGlashan is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

RSS Feeds: Andrew McGlashan

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Wade Miller-Knight on (June 27, 2011, 16:24 GMT)

Abhishek is only half right. Cyprus is mostly ethnic Greeks - is Markides related to the author and friend of Daskalos? And some of the names leave some curious questions, like Buccimazza - not a Portuguese name but which cricketing country is he from? - and Robert Krishna.

Posted by Clancy on (June 19, 2011, 13:19 GMT)

I love reading about the Associate nations. I find them so refreshing after the shenanigans on and off-field that go on amongst the test nations,players and boards.

Posted by Abhishek on (June 18, 2011, 14:02 GMT)

With exception of Hellas and isle of man...most teams play expats...this is nt good 4 d game...Hope those teams dont progress with expats...v need locals

Posted by balu on (June 18, 2011, 9:48 GMT)

wat is dis cric or chess game to sit and play

Comments have now been closed for this article


Andrew McGlashan
Assistant Editor Andrew arrived at ESPNcricinfo via Manchester and Cape Town, after finding the assistant editor at a weak moment as he watched England's batting collapse in the Newlands Test. Andrew began his cricket writing as a freelance covering Lancashire during 2004 when they were relegated in the County Championship. In fact, they were top of the table when he began reporting on them but things went dramatically downhill. He likes to let people know that he is a supporter of county cricket, a fact his colleagues will testify to and bemoan in equal quantities.

All articles by this writer