ICC Awards 2011

Dhoni leads ODI team of the year

ESPNcricinfo staff

September 12, 2011

Comments: 217 | Text size: A | A

Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni celebrate the biggest win of their lives, World Cup 2011, Mumbai, April 2, 2011
Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni were among the four Indians in the side © AFP

Four members of India's World Cup-winning squad have been named in the ICC's ODI team of the year. India's captain MS Dhoni was named captain became the only player to have made it for the fourth successive year. Yuvraj Singh, player of the tournament in the World Cup, Zaheer Khan, its leading wicket-taker, and Virender Sehwag are also in the team.

The ICC also picked three Sri Lankans in the XI, including the World Cup's highest run-scorer Tillakaratne Dilshan, former captain Kumar Sangakkara and fast bowler Lasith Malinga (12th man).

The others in the line-up were South Africa's new ODI captain AB de Villiers, fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Umar Gul, Australia's allrounder Shane Watson and England spinner Graeme Swann.

The notable absentees included South African opener Hashim Amla and Indian opener Gautam Gambhir, both of whom were among the four nominees for ICC's ODI player of the year.

Just one Pakistani?

  • "Clive, I have only question: why only one person from Pakistan?" asked Ijaz Butt, the Pakistan Cricket Board president, at the brunch at which the ICC ODI team of the year was announced. "Some of the boys really did pretty well and they deserved your consideration." In his brief response Lloyd said the panel had thought about a few more Pakistan players including the former captain Shahid Afridi. "We had discussions about that," Lloyd said. "We did discuss Afridi. (But) When you are picking a side you are looking at balance. We did not want to have an overload of spinners or quicks. I agree with you but there were not a lot of great performances (by the Pakistan players). They were consistent but not tremendously great performances."

"A lot of players were in contention and the cut off date was August 3. It was a tough selection but I am happy with this squad," Clive Lloyd, the head of the selection panel, said.

When Mark Nicholas, the MC for the event, expressed mild surprise at the team not being "jam-packed" by Indians considering they won the World Cup, Lloyd said the job was to find the right people to fit into various positions.

"There were a lot of people on the selection panel. Sachin Tendulkar is well and truly what you call a batting god. And it is very difficult to leave him out but when you look at the some of the players (picked ahead of him) they have done reasonably well. They had done better than him."

Lloyd also elaborated on why MS Dhoni was chosen as the captain. "He is a very studious guy, don't forget that. He doesn't have a lot to work with, he moves around his side a lot, and is a good thinker."

The team was selected based on performances between August 11, 2010 and August 3, 2011. The jury, headed by Clive Lloyd, also included South Africa's Paul Adams, England's Mike Gatting, New Zealand's Danny Morrison and Pakistan's Zaheer Abbas.

ODI team of the year: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh, Graeme Swann, Umar Gul, Dale Steyn, Zaheer Khan, 12th Man - Lasith Malinga

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (September 13, 2011, 22:56 GMT)

Where is the Test team? Or am I just stupid?

Posted by JAWNSIN on (September 13, 2011, 18:55 GMT)

Dhoni leads Asian ODI team of the year....................

Posted by Imran_Gondal on (September 13, 2011, 17:39 GMT)

This selection contains three jokes: (i) Sehwag in place of Hashim Amla (ii) Swann occupying Afridi's place (iii) Malinga 12th Man..... behind Steyn, Gul and Zaheer I can't understand the logic behind above mentioned three jokes.... Anyways good-luck to cricket.

Posted by   on (September 13, 2011, 17:06 GMT)

where is amla and vettori ?

Posted by asithaSL on (September 13, 2011, 15:30 GMT)

Ya.. itz a gr8 joke..! Malinga is d best 4 any odi ot t20... he must be i squrd.

Posted by sachin_vvsfan on (September 13, 2011, 10:17 GMT)

lasith as 12th man and swann as regular bowler?

Posted by Pathiyal on (September 13, 2011, 6:16 GMT)

funny to see lasith given 12th man. thought he deserved more.

Posted by   on (September 13, 2011, 5:01 GMT)

How About a team of all rounders for the same period : Hafeez, Dilshan, Watson, Shakib, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Afridi, Swann, Mills, Johnson, Malinga. 12th man Matthews

Posted by TamilIndian on (September 13, 2011, 4:41 GMT)

what is the use of selecting such a team unless you play atleast one game like the all stars? - I dont get it...

Posted by chandau on (September 13, 2011, 4:29 GMT)

Hmm there is always the panel's Xi and each person's XI :) But some selections in both Test & ODI teams seem to be questioned universally. Malinga is a MUST for any ODI or T20 team. Of the present lot he does what Shohaib, Tait, Lee and Waquar Wasim Ambrose Donald did in the past; strike fear in the mind and create panick in the opponents dressing room. The point is if there are batters like Sachin Kallis Gayle who can single handedly win a match then Malinga can do it by himself with the ball. Shewag is in the team due to reputation more than performance. Zaheer is in for variety 'coz not many high performing leftys around these days. Swann also scrapes in 'coz there is no MURALI anymore and the world's spin stock is near empty (no spinner did well at the WC in the subcontinent!!) In batting order: Dilshan, Watson, Amla, Sanga, AB, Dhoni(C+WK), Afridi, Swann, Steyn, Gul, Malinga. (Youvraj) Bowling: Steyn, Malinga, Watson, Gul / Afridi, Swann, Dilshan

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days