Media Release January 22, 2004

MCG to host rematch of last year's WNCL final

The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host a rematch of last year's Women's National Cricket League (WNCL) finals when arch-rivals Victoria Spirit and the New South Wales Breakers do battle in the three-match series beginning on 31 January.

The finals showdown is a best-of-three match series with the limited-over games scheduled for 31 January, 1 February and the deciding match, if required, on Monday 2 February.

Victoria Spirit claimed its inaugural WNCL title last season, defeating the New South Wales Breakers 2-0 in the finals series, also played at the MCG.

Since the women's national competition was established as the WNCL in 1996-97, the two sides have dominated the championship. New South Wales won six consecutive titles before Victoria broke the sequence to claim last year's championship.

In their two limited-over encounters this season, the sides completed a thrilling tie at Butler Oval in Frankston, before Victoria Spirit claimed a four wicket victory the next day at the same venue.

Overall, the two states have played 25 times with the WNCL head-to-head battle standing at New South Wales (15), Victoria (9) and one tied result (this year).

In WNCL finals series, they have met on four occasions - 1996-97, 1998-99, 2001-02 and 2002-03.

Six players have played in all 25 WNCL matches between the states - Bronwyn Calver, Julie Hayes and Lisa Keightley (New South Wales), and Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Melanie Jones and Belinda Clark (Victoria). Clark played 15 WNCL matches for New South Wales before relocating to Victoria.

Play begins at 1000 and entry is free. Patrons should enter via gate 8.