NZ v Australia, 2nd Test, Wellington, 1st day March 18, 2005

Umpires call off first day of rain and fog

Stumps New Zealand v Australia
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

A damp and foggy opening day at Wellington prevented any play © Getty Images

Rain washed out the first day of the second Test between Australia and New Zealand without a ball being bowled at Wellington's Basin Reserve. Misty showers and fog prevented play in the opening session and the weather set in, forcing the umpires and match referee to call it off at 1pm local time.

John Bracewell, the coach, said despite losing a day there was no need to change tactics. "It will have no significance on the match itself based on the way in which modern cricket is played," he said. "The fact the covers will have been on the wicket for at least two days by the time we get started could have an impact on the make-up of the XI."

Stephen Fleming will wait to name his team at the toss and the decision between Paul Wiseman's offspin and the medium pace of Iain O'Brien is the contentious one. New Zealand, who trained indoors today, trail 1-0 in the three-Test series after losing the opening match at Christchurch by nine wickets.

The match will start 30 minutes earlier for the next four days, but the forecast is not encouraging with heavy rain expected tomorrow, and there is a chance the first two days could be washed out. A strong southerly wind is also predicted to blast into Wellington to increase the discomfort of players and spectators.

Australia chose Michael Kasprowicz to be their into-the-breeze man ahead of Brett Lee, who was snubbed by state and country in a bid for some first-class action. He stayed in Wellington while his New South Wales team-mates played Queensland for the Pura Cup at Brisbane.

Australia 1 Justin Langer, 2 Matthew Hayden, 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Damien Martyn, 5 Michael Clarke, 6 Simon Katich, 7 Adam Gilchrist (wk), 8 Shane Warne, 9 Jason Gillespie, 10 Michael Kasprowicz, 11 Glenn McGrath.

New Zealand (probable) 1 Stephen Fleming (capt), 2 Lou Vincent, 3 Nathan Astle, 4 Craig Cumming, 5 Craig McMillan, 6 Hamish Marshall, 7 Brendon McCullum (wk), 8 Daniel Vettori, 9 James Franklin, 10 Paul Wiseman, 11 Chris Martin, 12 Iain O'Brien.