ICC Test Ratings June 12, 2007

Sangakkara moves to No.3 in ICC ratings

Cricinfo staff

Kumar Sangakkara, Sri Lanka's vice-captain, has shot up to No.3 in the LG ICC Player Rankings for Test batsmen. Sangakkara, who recently cracked an unbeaten 200 in his latest outing against Bangladesh, has only Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf and Australia's Ricky Ponting ahead of him in the list.

Sangakkara can, however, claim to be ahead of Yousuf and Ponting in at least one respect: this was his fifth Test double hundred, eclipsing the four each scored by the two players in front of him in the table. Sangakkara, who averages 52.17 from 66 matches, has managed double-hundreds against four opponents and now has the highest-ever rating by a Sri Lanka batsman in Test cricket.

Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful, who also had a good outing in the recently concluded second Test at the P Saravanamuttu Stadium, has climbed to a career-high listing. Ashraful, on his first tour in charge of Bangladesh, scored a defiant unbeaten 129, an innings that propelled him up 15 spots to 45th position in the batting table. Wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim, who chipped in with a feisty 80, climbed 54 places to 102nd place.

Muttiah Muralitharan, who snapped up four wickets in the first innings of that game and one in the second, hasn't extended his lead at the top of the rankings for Test bowlers but still remains well clear of South Africa fast bowler Makhaya Ntini. Third-placed Anil Kumble of India is some distance behind these two but he can close the gap with some good performances in the forthcoming Test series against England.

Top 15 Test batsmen
Rank Batsman Points
1 Ricky Ponting 936
2 Mohammad Yousuf 915
3 Kumar Sangakkara 875
4 Kevin Pietersen 862
5 Michael Hussey 842*
6 Matthew Hayden 828
7 Jacques Kallis 820
8 Rahul Dravid 801
9 Younis Khan 789
10 Shivnarine Chanderpaul 762
11 Ashwell Prince 755
12 Inzamam-ul-Haq 735
13 Mahela Jayawardene 714
14 Paul Collingwood 712
15 Stephen Fleming 674

Top 15 Test bowlers
Rank Bowler Points
1 Muttiah Muralitharan 913
2 Makhaya Ntini 856
3 Anil Kumble 730
3 Shaun Pollock 730
5 Shane Bond 722*
6 Matthew Hoggard 721
6 Monty Panesar 721*
8 Stuart Clark 720*
9 Mohammad Asif 710*
10 Shoaib Akhtar 698
11 Andrew Flintoff 680
12 Chaminda Vaas 678
13 Corey Collymore 673*
14 Danish Kaneria 662
15 Brett Lee 644
*indicates provisional rating; a batsman qualifies for a full rating after playing 40 Test innings; a bowler qualifies for a full rating when he reaches 100 Test wickets.

For more details, click here.