Walter Lawrence Trophy September 24, 2005

Blackwell smashes fastest hundred of 2005

Cricinfo staff

Ian Blackwell: ensured the Walter Lawrence Trophy stayed at Taunton © Getty Images
On the final afternoon of the longest first-class season ever, Somerset's Ian Blackwell dramatically snatched the Walter Lawrence Trophy, for the season's fastest first-class hundred, from the grasp of the previous joint-leaders, Shane Warne and Matt Prior.

Blackwell eclipsed the previous best by five balls with his 67-ball century against Derbyshire at Taunton. He survived two chances in the slips off successive balls when he had made 35 before racing to 107, which included two sixes and 18 fours.

Blackwell will receive the Walter Lawrence Trophy, prize money of £5,000 and a silver medallion from Aon Ltd, the Trophy's supporters, at a ceremonial dinner to be held in the Long Room at Lord's on October 4.

Blackwell's last-gasp hundred means that the Trophy will return to Taunton for the second year running: last year's winner was Somerset's Richard Johnson, whose 63-ball century was scored in the Trophy's 70th year.