|Photos||Video & Audio||Blogs||Statistics||Archive||Games||Mobile|
Peter English at Lord's
July 20, 2009
Andrew Strauss remains convinced he caught Phillip Hughes cleanly on the fourth day at Lord's as the ICC defended the process that led to a series of contentious decisions in the second Test. England, who won by 115 runs, were aided by three favourable rulings in Australia's second innings before the visitors were all out for 406 on Monday.
Replays of Hughes' dismissal showed the ball appearing to brush the ground while dropping into the fingers of Strauss, who was at first slip. "This is one of the real problems of technology," Strauss said. "I felt 100% I caught the ball, I've got a couple of bruised fingers where the ball, I felt, bounced off. On the slow motion it looked like it hit the ground. It's a tricky one."
In England's second innings Ravi Bopara was given not out when Nathan Hauritz accepted a miscued pull at mid-on. Hauritz, like Strauss, was certain it was clean, but Rudi Koertzen referred it to the TV umpire after both on-field officials expressed their doubt. The Hughes decision was not sent upstairs because Billy Doctrove, the square-leg umpire, felt the ball had carried to Strauss.
"There has been some confusion as to why one incident was referred and not the other," Jeff Crowe, the match referee, said. "It is simply a question of whether either on-field umpire is able to make the call himself or if he needs advice from the third umpire. If he is confident of the decision then he will make it himself regardless of how near or far away the incident took place."
A more detailed review process will be in place in October but Strauss was uncertain whether that would be successful. "I don't know what the solution is, to be honest with you," Strauss said. "I still maintain that I caught that ball, it's tricky because it looks like it hasn't carried but I still firmly believe that it did."
Tim Nielsen, the Australia coach, called for consistency in referring decisions when he spoke after the fourth day, but Ricky Ponting wanted to move on. "At the end of the day they are things that are completely out of our control as players," he said. "There's nothing that we can do, nothing that we can change as far as how those decisions went."
In the second innings Simon Katich was caught in the slips off Andrew Flintoff, with replays showing it was a no-ball. Michael Hussey was then ruled to have edged Graeme Swann behind but the ball turned sharply instead of brushing his bat. Ponting was also given out incorrectly in the first innings, being judged caught behind when lbw was the correct decision.
ESPNcricinfo looks at five reasons for Australia's dominance in winning back the Ashes
ESPNcricinfo looks at five reasons for England's failure to compete in Australia