NatWest Series August 23, 2006

Gough and Broad in England squad

Cricinfo staff

Darren Gough: back in the England fold © Getty Images
England's selectors have opted for a blend of youth and experience for the forthcoming one-day series against Pakistan, by recalling Darren Gough to the squad at the age of 36, and offering a first international opportunity to Leicestershire's 20-year-old Stuart Broad.

Gough is looking to extend his record of 157 ODIs by playing his first match for England since last year's NatWest Series final against Australia, while Broad and Sussex's Michael Yardy are the only uncapped players named in the squad.

Middlesex's Ed Joyce returns to the England squad after suffering a series-ending ankle injury in England's Twenty20 international against Sri Lanka in June, while Surrey's Rikki Clarke has been recalled after last playing a limited-overs match for England in 2004.

Commenting on the selection, David Graveney, England's chairman of selectors, said: "On reflection of the NatWest Series defeat to Sri Lanka earlier in the summer, the selectors felt that we needed some experience in the line-up for Andrew Strauss and Duncan Fletcher.

"As the 30-man ICC Champions Trophy squad illustrated, the selectors recognised that Darren Gough has bowled with great confidence for Essex this year. We are aware that in recent weeks Darren has been suffering from injury to his shins but we are in constant consultation with the Essex and England medical staff and therefore confident that he will be fully recovered by the first match next Monday based on ongoing assessment.

"Of the young bowlers currently making a strong impression in first class cricket, Stuart Broad has performed exceptionally well for Leicestershire this year, as would have been noticed by the public during the recent Twenty20 Cup finals day.

"Stuart, along with Darren Gough and Jon Lewis, give the captain and coach options when opening the bowling, something that proved to be a problem in the series against Sri Lanka."

Gough said: "I'm delighted to get another opportunity with England. I've worked hard all year and this call-up is my reward. I'm playing in the best one-day team in the country and my own performances have been very good - that's why I've been picked. I'm relishing the prospect of coming up against Pakistan as they have some of the best one-day batsmen in the world. It's going to be a challenge but I'm looking forward to it immensely."

Alex Loudon, Kabir Ali, Geraint Jones and Vikram Solanki are the players to miss out on selection after being included in the NatWest Series against Sri Lanka earlier this year.

Glen Chapple and Tim Bresnan, both members of England's initial one-day squad for the Sri Lanka series, are two of nine players not considered for selection due to injury, the others include Michael Vaughan, Andrew Flintoff, Simon Jones, Ashley Giles, Ian Blackwell, James Anderson and Liam Plunkett.

A scan has cleared Steve Harmison of any injury yesterday while Jamie Dalrymple has overcome a recent groin injury to retain his place in the squad.

Graveney added: "In the absence of Ashley Giles and Ian Blackwell, who are both injured, we're keen to look at Michael Yardy as an option with both the bat and the ball. Michael has performed well for Sussex in what is shaping up as a successful year for the club.

"After ongoing discussion with the Lancashire and England medical teams Glen Chapple was not considered due to injury even though he is playing for Lancashire. It was felt that Glen wouldn't be able to do himself justice at an international level despite the fact that he is still playing for Lancashire.

"In light of the series defeat to Sri Lanka both the captain, Andrew Strauss, and the Selectors are keen to see a far better performance against Pakistan who will prove to be a very difficult opponent. The selectors see this series as another opportunity to look at the options available as we draw closer to the World Cup next year."

Squad Andrew Strauss (capt), Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Rikki Clarke, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, James Dalrymple, Darren Gough, Steve Harmison, Ed Joyce, Jon Lewis, Sajid Mahmood, Kevin Pietersen, Chris Read, Marcus Trescothick, Michael Yardy.