ICC World Twenty20 2012

Muzhange included in Zimbabwe squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

August 16, 2012

Text size: A | A

Zimbabwe squad for World Twenty20

  • Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Graeme Cremer, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu, Richard Muzhange, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Forster Mutizwa
  • Non-travelling reserves: Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Shingirai Masakadza, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami

Richard Muzhange, the 21-year old Mid West Rhinos medium-pacer, is the only new face in the 15-man Zimbabwe squad for the ICC World Twenty20 to be led by Brendan Taylor.

Brian Vitori, the left-arm fast bowler, is the only other member of the squad yet to play a Twenty20 international, although he's already represented his country in Tests and ODIs.

"This is one of the hardest squads we've had to pick for a while because we had quite a few players competing for places," Heath Streak, the Zimbabwe bowling coach, told ESPNcricinfo. "Most of these guys are the ones that played against South Africa and Bangladesh in the tri-series. They did well there and we hope they will do well at the World Twenty20. We are in camp now and we will be playing some warm up matches there."

Ray Price, the left-arm spinner, missed the tri-series against South Africa and Bangladesh with an injury but has now returned to the squad.

Zimbabwe are in Group C in the World Twenty20, along with South Africa and hosts Sri Lanka. They will play the opening game of the tournament against the hosts on September 18 in Hambantota.

With inputs from Firdose Moonda, ESPNcricinfo's South Africa correspondent

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Sri Lanka v West Indies at Colombo (RPS) - Oct 7, 2012
West Indies won by 36 runs
Australia v West Indies at Colombo (RPS) - Oct 5, 2012
West Indies won by 74 runs
Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Colombo (RPS) - Oct 4, 2012
Sri Lanka won by 16 runs
India v South Africa at Colombo (RPS) - Oct 2, 2012
India won by 1 run
Australia v Pakistan at Colombo (RPS) - Oct 2, 2012
Pakistan won by 32 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days