India v New Zealand, 1st Test, Ahmedabad October 7, 2003

Balaji to make Test debut at Ahmedabad

Wisden Cricinfo staff

The Indians have announced their team for the first Test against New Zealand which starts at Ahmedabad tomorrow. Yuvraj Singh, Aavishkar Salvi and Sairaj Bahutule have been omitted from the 14-man squad, which means that L Balaji and Akash Chopra will make their Test debuts.

Indian team 1 Akash Chopra, 2 Virender Sehwag, 3 Rahul Dravid, 4 Sachin Tendulkar, 5 Sourav Ganguly (capt), 6 VVS Laxman, 7 Parthiv Patel (wk), 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Anil Kumble, 10, Zaheer Khan, 11 L Balaji.