Sahara Cup 2003-04 February 7, 2004

Mumbai post second successive win

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Mumbai 158 for 3 (Mane 73) beat Tamil Nadu 157 (Bahutule 3-23) by 7 wickets

Tamil Nadu folded for a mere 157 and Mumbai galloped to their second consecutive win of the Sahara Cup in Kolkata. Sairaj Bahutule and Nilesh Kulkarni were chiefly responsible for preventing the powerful Tamil Nadu batting line-up from rattling up a big score. Sridharan Sriram (39) and Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan (38) got them off to a solid start, but none of the other Tamil Nadu batsmen passed 20 and the innings was wrapped up in 47.1 overs. All the Mumbai bowlers registered economical figures and Bahutule's 3 for 23 was the outstanding performance. Mumbai cruised along in pursuit of 158, with Vinayak Mane and Robin Morris getting them of to a flying start. Morris reached 32 off just 29 balls before he was stumped off the bowling of R Ramkumar, the left-arm spinner. Vinod Kambli compiled a steady 42 while Mane creamed 12 fours en route to a fine 73. Mane fell with the job almost done, and Mumbai won with 16 overs to spare.