Ranji Trophy 2008-09 October 26, 2008

Dinesh Karthik to lead Tamil Nadu

Cricinfo staff

Dinesh Karthik, the Tamil Nadu wicketkeeper, has been named captain of his state team for its first three matches of the Ranji Trophy in November. S Badrinath, who was the Tamil Nadu captain last season, is part of the Test squad for the ongoing series against Australia.

The state selection committee picked a 15-man squad which will be coached by former Indian batsman WV Raman who will be assisted by DJ Gokulakrishnan.

Tamil Nadu are part of Group B in the Super League and their first three games are all away matches: against Maharashtra on November 3, Karnataka on November 10 and Uttar Pradesh on November 16. Last season Tamil Nadu won only one of their seven games while drawing four.

Squad: Dinesh Karthik (capt), Abhinav Mukund, Arun Karthik, M Vijay, R Srinivasan, R Prasanna, S Vidyut, S Suresh Kumar, R Ashwin, C Suresh, L Balaji, V Yo Mahesh, P Amarnath, C Ganapathy, H Gopinath.