India v Sri Lanka, 1st Test, Ahmedabad, 4th day November 19, 2009

Many lows for India

Cricinfo staff
Stats highlights from the fourth day's play between India and Sri Lanka in Ahmedabad

  • Sri Lanka's score of 760 for 7 is the highest by any team in India, overtaking India's 676 for 7 in Kanpur in 1986. It's also Sri Lanka's second-highest in Tests.

  • The 351-run stand between Mahela Jayawardene and Prasanna Jayawardene is the highest for the sixth wicket in Tests. They overtook Don Bradman and Jack Fingleton, who added 346 against England in Melbourne in 1937. The Jayawardenes' stand is also the third-highest overall against India.

  • India's spinners conceded 495 runs in the Sri Lankan innings; it's third in the list of most runs conceded by an Indian spin attack in Tests.

  • Four Indian bowlers - Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma and Zaheer Khan - conceded 100 runs or more. It's only the third instance for an Indian bowling attack in Tests in India.

  • Sri Lanka dominated Harbhajan Singh again; he recorded his worst figures in Tests, going for 189 and picking two wickets. Sri Lanka had taken him for 185 in Colombo in 2001, his previous worst.

  • Amit Mishra conceded 203 runs for a wicket in 58 overs; his figures are the worst - in terms of runs conceded - for an Indian spinner at home. He went past Vinoo Mankad, who went for 202 against West Indies in 1948.

  • India struck 58 fours and two sixes in their score of 436 (57.27% in boundaries and sixes). Sri Lanka secured a lead of 334 - they made 760 - but struck just 13 more boundaries and as many sixes, scoring 38.95% runs in boundaries. As for Jayawardene, 156 of his 275 were run (108 singles, 21 twos and two threes). He struck 27 boundaries and a six; Dravid, in his innings of 177, had struck 26 boundaries and a six.

  • Jayawardene took most of his runs off India's spinners - Mishra for 61, and Harbhajan for 89 off 102. He was also brisk against Ishant Sharma (48 off 49) and worked Yuvraj Singh around for 32 off 39. Prasanna fed off Harbhajan too, taking him for 44 off 73. He was more measured against the others; Mishra conceded 35 off 91 and Zaheer Khan, 19 off 45.

  • This Test provided only the second instance of wicketkeepers from each team scoring a century in the same game - MS Dhoni and Prasanna Jayawardene. The previous instance also involved India, against West Indies in Antigua in 2001 when Ajay Ratra and Ridley Jacobs scored centuries.