IPL 2017 May 9, 2017

All-time IPL XI : The final nominees

ESPNcricinfo staff
Five phases of voting and over 220,000 votes later, we have the final nominees for our all-time IPL XI

After over a month of polling, spread over five phases, we have our long list of 31 probables to pick the final IPL all-time XI from. Apart from the response being overwhelming throughout the five phases, our readers have fared well in adhering to the restriction of picking only four overseas players in the final XI. Accordingly, there are 14 overseas players - five of them allrounders - and 17 Indians on this list, from which our panel will vote to decide the final XI.

The Openers

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Noteworthy omissions : Michael Hussey (1.8k votes), Robin Uthappa (1.3k votes), Shikhar Dhawan (774 votes)

The batsmen

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Noteworthy omissions : Dinesh Karthik (2.2k votes)

The allrounders

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Noteworthy omissions : Yuvraj Singh (3.3k votes), Jacques Kallis (3k votes), Albie Morkel (1.8k votes)

The spinners

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Noteworthy omissions : Muttiah Muralitharan (2k votes)

The seamers

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Noteworthy omissions : Morne Morkel (1.1k votes), RP Singh (689 votes)

Our jury, which includes four former Test players (Sanjay Bangar, Aakash Chopra, Brad Hogg, Shaun Tait and Ajit Agarkar) and members of our staff, will now pick the final XI. The number of overseas players in the final XI will be restricted to four, keeping with the IPL's rules. Keep visiting our all-time IPL XI page for updates on the team selection.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • R on May 15, 2017, 20:20 GMT

    As I have commented earlier as well, the best overseas balance can be obtained with 1 top order batsman, 1 seam bowling all rounder, 1 fast bowler and 1 freak who doesn't fulfill any of these criteria. In the IPL history, these four guys are Gayle, Bravo (sorry Dre Russ), Malinga and a toss up between AB and Narine.

    As per the criteria here, the team should be Gayle, Gambhir (c), Raina, Rohit, AB, MSD (wk), Bravo, Jadeja, Mishra, Bhuvi, Malinga (or Narine in for Mishra and Yusuf Pathan in for AB).

    Reasons: Gayle, Raina, MSD, Bravo, Jadeja, Bhuvi and Malinga pick themselves. Gambhir is the most consistent Indian opener and has been the best captain in IPL (except Warne in season 1). Rohit beats Kohli and Mishra pips Ashwin by the same logic - winning games from seemingly impossible situations. That leaves space for only one player - the freak, and no one fits the bill better than AB.

  • Arup on May 15, 2017, 9:14 GMT

    I am posting 2 XI's, the first will be with the normal IPL restrictions (4 overseas players only) and the second will be without restrictions.

    Team 1 - Gayle, Warner, Kohli, AB DeVilliers, Raina, Dhoni*+, Bravo, Ashwin, Narine, Bhuvi, Malinga (5 Indians, 6 Overseas)

    As there's no limitations, I've gone for what I believe is the strongest XI. The top 6 are all power hitters. 2 fast bowling seamers, 2 spinners and a seam bowling all-rounder. Best balanced XI

    Team 2 - Gayle, Gambhir, Kohli, AB DeVilliers, Raina, Dhoni*+, Bravo, Ashwin, Narine, Bhuvi, Nehra.

    With the limitations, I've had to drop Warner and Malinga. I was very close to picking Warner over Gayle, but then that would only be because of IPL 10, but on his day Gayle is mind blowing. Malinga misses out for the consistent Nehra.

  • KASUN on May 14, 2017, 10:00 GMT

    According to the lists provided above, my XI is: Gayle, Sehwag, Kohli, ABD, Dhoni, Jadeja, Narine, Ashwin, Mishra, Bhuvaneshwar, Malinga

  • dharsh1668367 on May 13, 2017, 7:45 GMT

    My All-Time IPL XI will be as follows: 1. Warner (Over Seas) 2. Kholi 3. Raina 4. Dhoni (Captain + Wicket Keeper) 5. Pollard (Over Seas) 6. Hardik 7. Axar 8. Ashwin 9. Narine (Over Seas) 10. Bumrah 11. Malinga (Over Seas) 12th Man Chahal

    Over Seas Reserves : ABD, Starc, Murali, Jayasuriya, Russel

  • cricfan7966822187 on May 12, 2017, 19:50 GMT

    My T20 Team before T20 became Internation vs IPL or any present players who start T20 cricket, 1-G Greednidge, 2- S Gavaskar, 3-V Richard , 4-G Chappel, 5 -C Lloyd ,6-I Botham, 7- K Dev 8-I Khan , 9- J Garner , 10-R Hadlee , 11-A Knott (WK) 12 man D Hooks

  • cricfan7966822187 on May 12, 2017, 19:23 GMT

    My all time best IPL XI 1- 1-C.Gayle , 2-B Mc Cullum , 3-V Kohli ,4-D Warner , 5-S Raina , 6-Yusuf, 7-MS Dhoni (Capt) 8-R Ashwin, 9-S Narine 10-A Nehra , 11- Z Khan , 12 man Y Pathan. Overseas Players on stand by D Bravo , L Malinga ,A DeVilliers

  • Richard on May 12, 2017, 16:58 GMT

    Bradman, Gilchrist+, IVA Richards, Sobers, Ponting, A De Silva, Marshall, Akram, Garner, Lillee, McGrath.

  •   Dileep Thumati on May 12, 2017, 16:56 GMT

    Sachin Tendulkar, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, A B de Villiers, M S Dhoni(c), Sunil Naraine, Yuzvendra Chahal, Zaheer Khan, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Mustafizur Rehman.

  • Srivatsan on May 12, 2017, 13:50 GMT

    CSK XI will be the best all time IPL XI. No point picking players on stats they need to gel and deliver as a team!. And there is no better T20 team in the world than CSK.

  • Brishni on May 12, 2017, 7:29 GMT

    The Two Best Teams, from the ones shortlisted in the article (with the 4 overseas (o/s) players restrictions are as follows. I'd pay to watch these Champions face off

    1. Gayle (o/s) 2. Sehwag 3. Raina 4. Rohit 5. Dhoni (c & w/k) 6. Bravo (o/s) 7. Shakib (o/s) 8.Ashwin 9. Bhuvneshwar 10. Malinga (o/s) 11. Nehra 12th Man: Harbhajan

    1. Warner(o/s) 2. Gambhir 3. Kohli (c) 4. deVilliers (w/k) 5. Yusuf 6. Pollard (o/s) 7. Jadeja 8. Narine (o/s) 9. Mishra 10. Steyn (o/s) 11. Zaheer 12th man: Umesh

    Well done Cricinfo for compiling this list.

  • No featured comments at the moment.