Pakistan v Sri Lanka 2013-14 November 25, 2013

SL call on Vithanage and Seekkuge Prasanna

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sri Lanka have included batsman Kithuruwan Vithanage and legspinner Seekkuge Prasanna in their ODI squad for the series against Pakistan in the UAE in December. Vithanage was a replacement for Mahela Jayawardene, who asked not to be considered, as his wife is expecting their first child in December.

Prasanna, meanwhile, came in for Ajantha Mendis, who was dropped from the squad despite not playing an ODI in the recent series against New Zealand. Prasanna last played an ODI for Sri Lanka in March 2012, against Pakistan during the Asia Cup in Dhaka. Vithanage is yet to play a limited-overs international for Sri Lanka, but had played in the home Test series against Bangladesh in March.

Opener Dimuth Karunaratne was also retained in the ODI side, despite having been dropped after two failures during the New Zealand series. He will likely be the back-up opener to Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kusal Perera, who marked a return to international form with a brisk fifty in the second Twenty20 against New Zealand.

The SLC release said Rangana Herath had been rested from the Twenty20 squad because of the volume of cricket he has played in recent times, and given Sri Lanka's busy schedule until the 2015 World Cup. He does find a place in the ODI squad, however.

Ramith Rambukwella's selection in the T20 squad is subject to him recovering from the knee injury he sustained in the second T20 against New Zealand.

Fast bowler Shaminda Eranga remains out of the reckoning for limited overs cricket, although he had had moderate success, particularly in ODIs, during the year. Chief selector Sanath Jayasuriya said Suranga Lakmal had been preferred to Eranga because "Lakmal is bowling better at the moment". He however added that Eranga is likely to be part of the Test team.

Jayawardene is also expected to be available for the three Tests, which begin on December 31.

ODI squad Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjan, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Seekkuge Prasanna

Twenty20 squad Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ramith Rambukwella (subject to fitness)