Pakistan v West Indies December 1, 2006

Afridi and Nazir left out of ODI squad

Shahid Afridi, with 114 runs from 17 matches this year, did not make the 14-man one-day squad © AFP

Pakistan have left out Shahid Afridi from the 14-man squad announced for the first ODI against the West Indies. Shahid Nazir, despite impressing through the Test series, has also not been considered, alongside Faisal Iqbal and Samiullah Khan Niazi.

Afridi has been in desperately poor form through the year managing just 114 runs from 17 matches at an average of just over eight. His 14 wickets have also come at a relatively high cost. Younis Khan will lead the team in Rawalpindi in place of Inzamam-ul-Haq, who will be serving the final part a four-match ban for his part in The Oval Test fiasco in August this year. "He hasn't performed so well domestically," Wasim Bari, the chairman of selectors told Cricinfo. "But the door is open always and he can do well on the domestic circuit and make a comeback."

Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, overlooked for the ongoing Test series, has been recalled, alongside Danish Kaneria, Yasir Hameed and Mohammad Sami. The latter three were not in the squad for the Champions Trophy in India in October.

Bari said that Kaneria was selected keeping in mind the team's future commitments in South Africa and the World Cup. "Anil Kumble has been successful in South Africa and we are going there soon so he might be a handy option in the ODI series there."

The West Indies have already announced their one-day squad with Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Daren Ganga and Omari Banks returning home after the Test series. Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith and Ian Bradshaw have arrived as replacements.

The first in the five-match series will be played in Rawalpindi on December 5, followed by the second at Faisalabad (Dec 7), third in Lahore (Dec 10), fourth at Multan (Dec 13) and the final game in Karachi (Dec 16).

Squad: Younis Khan (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Rao Iftikhar, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Danish Kaneria, Abdul Rehman.

Osman Samiuddin is Pakistan editor of Cricinfo