Ranji Trophy ODI tournament, 8th day March 5, 2008

Pathan five-for sets up thrilling Baroda win

Cricinfo staff

The following are the summary of results from the eighth day of the Ranji Trophy one-day tournament

Cheteshwar Pujara got his first century of the tournament in Saurashtra's win over Gujarat © (file photo) Cricinfo Ltd

West Zone

An all-round effort by Saurashtra's bowlers meant Gujarat were bowled out for a paltry 230 which Saurashtra chased with more than 11 overs to spare at the Deccan Gymkhana Ground in Pune. Sandip Maniar, Balkrishna Jadeja, Rakesh Dhurv and Jayesh Odedra picked up two wickets each for Saurashtra. Half-centuries by Niraj Patel and Sunny Patel took Gujarat past 200 but with no other batsman making a useful score they couldn't post a competitive total. The 106-ball 107 run second-wicket partnership between Sagar Jogiyani (79) and Cheteshwar Pujara (109*) set the tone of the chase. With this win, Saurashtra qualified for the inter-zonal tournament along with Mumbai from West Zone.

Baroda won a thriller against Maharashtra after Yusuf Pathan dismissed No. 11 batsman Noor Khan with Maharashtra needing only three more runs to win at the Hindu Gymkhana Ground in Pune. Four half-centuries, including a 38-ball 79 by Rajesh Pawar, took Baroda to 366.

Maharashtra matched Baroda's run-rate as opener Ameya Shrikhande, playing only his fourth limited-overs game, hit a 114-ball 124 which included 16 fours and two sixes. When Shrikhande fell in the 31st over, Maharashtra needed another 166 off 110 balls with six wickets in hand. Nikhil Paradkar took charge of the innings and his 34-ball 71 held things together even as Pathan struck thrice in the space of six overs. At the fall of Paradkar's wicket, Maharashtra needed 65 off 54 balls with two wickets left. Ajinkya Joshi, the No. 9 batsman, kept his cool and added 50 off 39 balls with No. 10 Samad Fallah before Pathan had Fallah stumped when only 15 more were needed. Joshi worked with Noor to push the match to the final over but Pathan picked up his fifth wicket and sealed the game for Baroda with two balls to spare.

North Zone

Having done well to keep Punjab to 255 in Delhi, Himachal Pradesh scraped home with one delivery to spare. Given the types of scores racked up this season a target of 255 should have been eaten up but HP's line-up struggled. Sandeep Sharma (33), Maninder Bisla (32), Ajay Mannu (40) all got starts but failed to go further, Paras Dogra got 64 from 80 balls but was run out in the 39th over, and Kuldeep Diwan and Sarandeep Singh cut it a bit fine. Diwan, whose unbeaten 34 was a career high, added 26 with Sarandeep (16 not out) from 20 balls to reach the target in 49.5 overs.

Having chosen to bat, Punjab's innings was held up by veteran Pankaj Dharmani's 94 and 59 from Uday Kaul, his successor behind the stumps. Vikramjeet Malik and Jitender Mehta struck early to reduce Punjab to 53 for 3 before Dharmani and Kaul add 148. Malik returned towards the slog overs, however, and the duo were separated in succession. Punjab's lower order failed to ignite and ultimately HP left themselves a target that would prove achievable, just.

Delhi completed their series of big wins in the tournament as they beat Services by ten wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Services crawled to 206 on the back of Yashpal Singh's 71. Aakash Chopra and Shikhar Dhawan scored centuries and knocked of the target in 27.1 overs.

Amardeep Sonkar took 4 for 31 as Haryana bowled out Jammu & Kashmir for 180 and won by 88 runs at the Harbax Singh Stadium in Delhi. Sunny Singh scored a sedate 88 and Sachin Rana and Dhruv Singh chipped in with 44 each in Haryana's 268. Sameer Khajuria picked up four wickets as six Haryana wickets fell for 68 runs. But J&K were never in the chase, with their top score being 36.

East Zone Rain forced East Zone games - Assam v Tripura and Bengal v Jharkhand - to be abandoned without a ball being bowled. All four teams got four points each.

Click here for the full list of scorecards