West Indies tri-series June 21, 2013

Injured Dilshan out of West Indies tri-series

Upul Tharanga will replace the injured Tillakaratne Dilshan in Sri Lanka's squad for the tri-series in West Indies, while Ajantha Mendis also got a recall at Thisara Perera's expense. Scans after Thursday's Champions Trophy semi-final against India showed Dilshan had suffered a second-degree tear to his right medial calf muscle and will be in recovery for four to six weeks. The injury also put him in doubt for South Africa's limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka, which begins on July 20.

Mendis has been increasingly regarded a Twenty20 specialist, and has not played an ODI for Sri Lanka since January. His inclusion strengthened Sri Lanka's spin resources on tour, with Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake and Jeevan Mendis also traveling. Perera's exclusion was a surprise, though, and Dilhara Lokuhettige, who has been with the team in the UK without having played a match, will remain in the squad as they head to the Caribbean.

Perera has been a fixture of Sri Lanka's limited-overs sides in the last 18 months, but made only 15 runs in two innings in the Champions Trophy, and bowled eight overs for no wicket. Tharanga has also been out of the side since January, but had an encouraging season of first-class cricket, in which he averaged 66.66 in 14 innings.

Dilshan tore his calf in the fourth over of Sri Lanka's innings, after he had struck Umesh Yadav for two boundaries. Though he took painkillers, he was unable to continue batting and retired hurt in the next over. He returned in the penultimate over of the innings, but hobbled between the wickets during his stay, and did not take the field as Sri Lanka failed in their attempt to defend 181.

The tri-series in the West Indies will feature India, as well as the hosts, and begins on June 28.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Kusal Perera, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal (vc), Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis.

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo's Sri Lanka correspondent. He tweets here