Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2012-13 March 20, 2013

Bengal go top after crushing win

ESPNcricinfo staff

North Zone

Delhi's seamers restricted Jammu & Kashmir to 116 for 9, to gain a 17-run victory, and push them to the top of the table.

Delhi, batting first, were in a spot of bother at 48 for 4, but Jagrit Anand (34) and Milind Kumar (40) put on a 69-run stand for the fifth wicket, to push the total to 133 for 6. J&K were unable to build substantial partnerships in their chase, with only Manish Dogra (20), Parvez Rasool (26), and Bandeep Singh (32) contributing, as Delhi bowlers' kept them in check throughout. Delhi's captain Rajat Bhatia was their most productive bowler, taking 3 for 26.

East Zone

Bengal comprehensively beat Tripura by eight wickets, to go to the top of the table.

After choosing to bat, Tripura's top-order batsmen took their side to 49 for 3, before a collapse had them losing seven wickets for 55 runs, to be eventually bowled out for 104. The wickets were shared around, with seamer Sanjib Sanyal and offspinner Arnab Nandi doing maximum damage with two wickets each.

Bengal's top-order, in reply, played their part, led by Subhomoy Das' 37. Sayan Mondal's unbeaten 29 ensured they won comfortably in the 17th over.

A collective batting effort ensured Odisha beat Jharkhand by 24 runs.

Contributions from Govind Podder (41), Biplab Samantray (34), and Bikas Pati (25) took Odisha to a competitive153 for 7. Seamer Rahul Shukla was Jharkhand's most effective bowler, taking 4 for 30.

Jharkhand lost both openers early in their chase, and despite contributions from Saurabh Tiwary (26), Kumar Deobrat (31) and Ajatshahtru Singh (24), they lost wickets regularly, and were unable to keep abreast of the required run-rate, losing by 24 runs.