Vijay Hazare Trophy 2010-11, quarter-finals February 25, 2011

Vidarbha oust TN, Gujarat crush Bengal

ESPNcricinfo staff

Vidarbha dumped defending champions Tamil Nadu out of the tournament with a four-wicket win in Indore. Shrikant Wagh and Himanshu Joshi restricted TN to 230, taking five wickets between them, after M Vijay (38) and S Anirudha (28) had given TN a solid start, putting on 67. After both fell to Wagh, Joshi dismissed Abhinav Mukund and Dinesh Karthik cheaply. S Badrinath too didn't hang around for long, and it was left to the lower order to take TN past 200, after they had slumped to 164 for 7.

C Ganapathy brought TN back in to the game, sending back the Vidarbha openers with 38 on the board. But Ravi Jangid and Joshi steadied the chase in a 53-run stand, and captain Ranjit Paradkar anchored the innings with a patient half-century. But Ganapathy returned to remove Paradkar with Vidarbha still needing 34 from 25 deliveries. Amol Ubarhande, though, was there to take Vidarbha to the target with nine balls to spare, and remained unbeaten on 40.

Gujarat stormed into the semi-finals with a 114-run demolition of Bengal at the Emerald High School Ground in Indore. Half-centuries from Parthiv Patel, Manprit Juneja and Sunny Patel set up Gujarat's 263. The Bengal seamers took six wickets between them but none of them went for less than six runs an over. It was left to the spinners to exert some amount of control, and Gujarat did not help themselves with four run-outs.

Bengal lost Anustup Majumdar to the second delivery of the chase, and Saurasish Lahiri soon after. Manoj Tiwary also could not capitalise on his start, and was caught behind for 27. Shreevats Goswami (39) and Wriddhiman Saha (30) took Bengal past 100, but the asking rate soon climbed above six. After the duo was dismissed, the lower order crumbled under the pressure, and Bengal lost seven wickets for 35 runs to be bowled out for 149. All the Gujarat bowlers were among the wickets, with Amit Singh finishing with 3 for 25.