New Zealand in West Indies 2012 July 14, 2012

Permaul to lead WICB President's XI

ESPNcricinfo staff

Veerasammy Permaul, the Guyana left-arm spinner, will lead the WICB President's XI against the New Zealanders in the three-day tour match beginning in Antigua on July 20. Permaul was captain of West Indies A in their recent home series against India A.

Fast bowlers Delorn Johnson and Kevin McClean, who also played against India A, were part of the 12-man squad. Johnson was the leading wicket-taker in the unofficial Tests against India A, with 17 at 13.29 in three matches.

The rest of the squad comprised West Indies internationals. Darren Bravo had not fully recovered from the groin injury that sidelined him on the recent tour of England and was not picked.

WICB President's XI squad: Veerasammy Permaul (capt), Adrian Barath, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Assad Fudadin, Delorn Johnson, Kevin McClean, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Shane Shillingford, Devon Thomas (wk)

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Gordon on July 18, 2012, 0:01 GMT

    Why are we so lacking in grace and care by calling for Chanderpaul's exit from the game. Wasn't this the man bailing us out in the recent England series. It is not like we have some old dead wood in the team. Most times the younger guys are in a mighty rush to reaffirm their place in the pavilion when they should be out in the middle. A few ODI wins have shown us the dire need for experience and improvement of temperament amongst several of our batsmen. Let us not deny the younger men the opportunity to learn from Chanders while he is still around. For such a great player, there should be some agreement between himself and the team management for when his last series would be played, and at that time we honour him for his contribution to the game and the region.

  • Dummy4 on July 17, 2012, 14:34 GMT

    bishoo should be in this team

  • Roger on July 17, 2012, 12:01 GMT

    @cricketdebator, with all due respects, this team,as good as they have been playing, are still brittle, especially in the top order. Once Gayle fails, it's all downhill unless people like Samuels and Chanderpaul, yes 37 year-old Chanders, pulls them up.

    Do not, I repeat, do not, underestimate the importance and vital role the 37 year old Chanderpaul plays in this team. They need him to stabilize the top/middle order and until we find a capable replacement, he is our guy.

    Sarwan also is fairly young and has at least 3-5 years left in his tank.Once he sorts out his mental issues with the WICb he will always command a place in the team.

    Stop hating and look at all the intangibles before making hasty comments.

  • sreekanth on July 17, 2012, 5:25 GMT

    i would like to see bishoo in the team,, he and narine can be really good.bravo sr should be replaced by narshing deonirne. My test 11 will be: 1,Gayle, 2,bharath, 3,samuels, 4,darren bravo/fuddadin/edwards,5,chanders,6,sammy, 7, rushel, 8 thomas, 9, rampaul, 10,narine, 11, bishoo/ben/

  • leabert on July 15, 2012, 23:44 GMT

    The idea of retiring older players is sometimes not a bad idea especially when their contributions to the team becomes limited,at such a juncture i personally see them as baggage and as cloggers of the pipeline,but on the other hand when you have veterans like Gayle and Chanderpaul who are mentors and high level performers on the team these guys have to be there to guide the younger players into becoming full fledged performers,in any army you still need veterans who know about the enemy to be around to show young soldiers how to survive with that being said Chanderpaul has to be there.look at Tendulkhar and Dravid.

  • P Subramani on July 15, 2012, 15:50 GMT

    Excellent way to go by grooming Parmaul for the national captaincy. He is just 22 but as we saw against India, is a good spin bowler and an above average batsman. He could be the next Captain whenever Sammy decides to call it a day. The thing that most people may not know is that he is interested in teaching. That makes him a big asset amongst people who may only know about cricket. It is great to see that the West Indies are back in business.An attack of Roach,Best,Johnson, Narine and Permaul can take on any batting line up. Jerome Taylor can be on the bench.

  • Earl on July 15, 2012, 15:30 GMT

    Our bets team in my humble opinion should be selected from the following players Gayle,Powell,Barath,K.Edwards,Chanderpaul,Samuel Dw Bravo,Narine,Best,Roach,Benn,Sammy,Ramdin,Johnsonl.My 12th man either barath or Powell and the fast bowling msaybe leave Best out.

  • Earl on July 15, 2012, 15:20 GMT

    It is always the case that our bowling attack never puts the opposition away when the get on top early.The reason is that there is no verity in our bowling.We need attacking bowlers.Narine will fit the bill now, but he needs someone to keep the pressure on.Benn is our best spinner.He has proved it before when we were playing on those wickets that gave no assistance to bowlers.We need bowlers that can take wickets and bowl maiden overs.Our quick men give up too many 4 balls.Good to see Delorn Johnson getting a try out.If they are planning on picking him why show him to the opposition? Let us start getting the selection right for a change.

  • Simon on July 15, 2012, 15:16 GMT

    With all the young talent coming through and available to the selector, it is time some folks to stop calling for the continued selection of players like Chanderpaul and Sarwan. Instead, these older player should hang up their boots and make it easier for the selectors to select the younger players. If one should objectively look at the selection of the above team, one would have to concluded that there is no sense in selecting 37 year old Chanderpaul on a President's 11 team, ahead of some young, promising and aspiring batsman. I know there are lots of Chanda's fans who will not agree with me, but with all due respect, I thank him for all he's done, but thinks it's time for him to go, in the interest of the future develpoment of West Indies team. He has to go at some time. Now is that time.

  • Dummy4 on July 15, 2012, 14:57 GMT

    Johnson should definitely be in the starting 11 for the test series IMO !

  • No featured comments at the moment.