Carib Beer Cricket Series February 14, 2004

Barbados take the Carib Beer Cup

Wisden Cricinfo staff

Inspired by an unbeaten double century by Sherwin Campbell, Barbados bowled out Leeward Islands for 161 to take the first-innings points and ensure that they would win the Carib Beer Cup, regardless of the outcome of the other matches. Barbados clinched the trophy for the 19th time, while elsewhere Kenya found the going tough against the Windward Islands.

Points table

Leeward Islands 161 and 76 for 2 trail Barbados 432 (Campbell 211*, Hinds 49) by 195 runs

Barbados clinched the Carib Beer Cup when they bowled out Leeward Islands for 161 to take the first-innings lead, and the points that go with it. Sherwin Campbell scored 211, and towered over his team-mates, not one of whom could tally over 49. Leeward Islands could only muster 161 in reply as Sulieman Benn and Ian Bradshaw tore through the batting to share seven wickets. Following on, the batsmen weathered early storms - caused by Bradshaw - and ended the day on 76 for 2, still 161 runs away from making Barbados bat again.

Windward Islands 281 for 0 (Smith 169*, Currency 92*) lead Kenya 152 (Thomas 8-28) by 129 runs

Devon Smith and Romel Currency bullied Kenya into submission with a 281-run opening partnership that set Windward Islands on course for victory. Smith scored 169, with the more sedate Currency unbeaten on 92 at the end of the day. Nothing the bowlers tried worked, but the batsmen gave them respect, and did not savage any bowler in particular. They made batting look easy on a pitch where Kenya had performed abysmally on the opening day.

Kenya threatened to make a game of it when their openers put on 50 for the first wicket, with Kennedy Otieno and Ravindu Shah providing a platform to launch from, before Fernix Thomas struck. In 19 overs of pure mayhem, Thomas removed the top six, and took two more to end with 8 for 28. Kenya's innings was terminated at 152, and the only other resistance shown was a 51-run fourth-wicket partnership between Hitesh Modi and Maurice Odumbe. Towards the end, Collins Obuya managed 23, but Thomas claimed him too.

Trinidad and Tobago 229 (Kanhai 111, Ganga 64) and 76 for 1 lead Jamaica 147 by 158 runs

Trinidad and Tobago, put in to bat by Jamaica, found the going tough on a difficult pitch and struggled to 22 for 3 before a 144-run partnership between Sherwin Ganga (64) and Aneil Kanhai hauled them out of trouble. David Bernard, who took three wickets, then dismissed Ganga and started a procession that would end the innings at 229. Kanhai, however, stood his ground and remained unaffected by the fall of wickets, playing an innings of 111 that gave the score respectability, and more importantly, give the team a chance for victory.

Things went to script when Jamaica lost all 10 wickets in the space of 107 runs, to be all out for 147. Amit Jaggernauth and Reyad Emrit picked up six wickets, and only Andrew Richardson (31*), Brenton Parchment (32), and David Bernard (24) could resist. Trinidad then came back to bat and lost only one wicket in the 34 overs they faced. At the end of the second day, Darren and Sherwin Ganga were on 39 and 26 respectively, with Trinidad leading by 158.

West Indies B 96 for 2 (Haynes 40*) trail Guyana 419 (Sarwan 95, Dowlin 94, Nagamootoo 58, Daesrath 56) by 323 runs

When Guyana lost their first two wickets for next to nothing, it seemed the team would remain at the bottom of the table. But Ramnaresh Sarwan and Travis Dowlin struck nineties, and Narsingh Deonarine followed up their knocks with 35. Then Damodar Daesrath and Vishal Nagamootoo scored fifties, and took Guyana to 419. Jason Bennett was the main bowler for West Indies B, with a haul of 4 for 83 in 27 overs. And at the end of the day, his team were 96 for 2, with Hayes batting on 40.