Women's cricket March 9, 2017

Annual award named after Heyhoe-Flint

ESPNcricinfo staff

The award for the leading woman cricketer will now carry Rachael Heyhoe Flint's name © Getty Images

The ICC has announced the annual award for the leading woman cricketer will be named after the former England captain Rachael Heyhoe-Flint who died in January aged 77.

Heyhoe-Flint played 22 Tests and 23 ODIs for England and was the first woman to be inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame.

She was integral to the launch of the first Women's World Cup in 1973 - two years ahead of the men's event - in which she captained England to victory.

The announcement came on the day the 2017 Women's World Cup, which will be staged in England, was launched with confirmation of the fixtures.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • PratUSA on March 10, 2017, 2:36 GMT

    A very good decision by ICC. Most appropriate person has been chosen for this honor.

  • markatnotts on March 9, 2017, 18:28 GMT

    Completely agreed, Nutcutlet. Additionally on top of all her work in the sporting world, being the mover and shaker she was, Heyhoe-Flint was mentioned for doing some excellent work for Marie Curie in the Birmingham area that I got to hear about when I volunteered there in 1999.

  • Nutcutlet on March 9, 2017, 7:50 GMT

    Excellent that the ICC has decided to honour the memory of the late Rachel Hayhoe-Flint: her massive contribution to women's cricket needed to be acknowledged by the world body. I am waiting to hear how the ECB -perhaps in conjunction with the MCC - intend to honour her memory. I think commissioning a statue to be located at Lord's, of course, would be a fitting tribute. If it becomes the first statue of a woman cricketer (as I strongly suspect it would be) then that would be entirely appropriate. After all, she has been called the WG of women's cricket. And her sporting manners easily exceeeded those of the Victorian rascal! At all events the ECB/MCC cannot remain silent on this!

  • No featured comments at the moment.