ICC World Twenty20 2010 February 27, 2010

Kemp among South Africa's probables

Cricinfo staff

South Africa have named allrounder Justin Kemp in their initial squad of 30 for the ICC World Twenty20 to be played in the Caribbean in April and May 2010. Experienced fast bowler Makhaya Ntini, who is no longer a part of the Test and one-day sides, has also found a place in the list of probables.

Kemp joined the unofficial Indian Cricket League soon after the inaugural World Twenty20 in 2007, and hasn't played for South Africa in nearly two-and-a-half years. After the ban on him for ICL links was lifted at the start of the season, he has captained Cape Cobras to the top of the table in the Supersport Series and a place in the semi-finals of the Standard Pro20 series.

South Africa have also named four uncapped players in the preliminary squad. The four are batsman Colin Ingram and fast bowler Rusty Theron from the Warriors, batsman David Miller from the Dolphins and fast bowler Ethy Mbhalati of the Titans.

The final squad of 15 will be named in March.

Men's squad: Graeme Smith, Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Abdulla, Hashim Amla, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Colin Ingram, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Ethy Mbhalati, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe, Johannes van der Wath, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Morne van Wyk.