The Bath Recreation Ground is one of the county circuits most stunning venues, situated almost in the middle of the old city, near Bath Abbey and the river Avon. The only permanent building on the cricket ground is the Victorian pavilion, although the adjoining Bath Rugby Club, which shares the field, does have more impressive modern stands. The remainder of the facilities consist of marquees and uncovered seating, but the proximity to the city and the wide open spaces make it a worthwhile venue to visit.
The ground was first used by Somerset in 1880, and the first first-class match was against Hampshire four seasons later. The festival remains a highlight of the summer, although the cricket pitch remains unused the remainder of the year as the area is used for a multitude of other sports.