Full Name

Muhammad Zaka Ashraf


September 09, 1952, Hyderabad, Pakistan


71y 282d


Sadiq Public School Bahwalpur and the Cadet College Petaro



In 2011, Zaka Ashraf was appointed successor to Ijaz Butt as chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board. That appointment, however, was political, but, in 2013, when the constitution was amended, he was endorsed by the PCB Board of Governors. He is currently serving a four-year term.

Ashraf's ongoing tenure has been much calmer and less eventful than the controversial regime of Butt. Ashraf is known for his proximity to Pakistan President Asif Ali Zardari, who is also chairperson of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), and a key member of its central executive committee. He hasn't played any first-class or List A cricket and had no official links with the game but has had extensive corporate experience.

As PCB chairman, Ashraf's goal is to bring back international cricket to Pakistan, but he hasn't succeeded thus far. But Ashraf has been credited for the resumption of bilateral cricketing ties with India - the teams played a short series in India in December 2012. Cricketing ties between the two countries had suffered following the 2008 terror attacks in Mumbai, though the teams did meet in multilateral tournaments after that.

Before taking charge as PCB chairman, Ashraf served as President of Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited - the largest public sector financial development institution in Pakistan. He hails from a business family, and inherited established sugar mills from his father. He is also chairman of the Ashraf Group of Industries & Ashraf Sugar Mills, Bahawalpur.
Umar Farooq, May 2013

Photos of Zaka Ashraf

PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf with BCCI president Roger Binny and vice president Rajeev Shukla in Lahore
Zaka Ashraf announces the schedule for Asia Cup 2023
Zaka Ashraf arrives at the PCB office after being reinstated as chairman
Zaka Ashraf talks to reporters in Lahore on Friday
Zaka Ashraf at a PCB board of governors meeting
PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf addresses a press conference with the new chief selector Iqbal Qasim and Misbah-ul-Haq and Mohammad Hafeez