Quick Links
Most viewed players


Player index by type
Player index by letter


Eifion Jones      

Full name Eifion Wyn Jones

Born June 25, 1942, Velindre, Glamorgan, Wales

Current age 78 years 122 days

Major teams Glamorgan

Batting style Right-hand bat

Fielding position Wicketkeeper

Relation Brother - A Jones

Eifion Wyn Jones
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 405 591 119 8341 146* 17.67 3 840 93
List A 295 227 66 2241 67* 13.91 0 1 257 43
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 405 3 5 0 - - - 10.00 - 0 0 0
List A 295 12 10 0 - - - 5.00 - 0 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1961 - 1983
List A span 1963 - 1983

Eifion Jones is regarded by many people as being the finest ever wicket-keeper for Glamorgan. He initially joined the Glamorgan staff in the early 1960`s as a specialist right-handed batsman. With coaching from Phil Clift, Eifion developed his skills as a wicket-keeper, and he subsequently became the club`s regular gloveman from 1968 until 1982. During his career he took a club record of 933 dismissals, and rarely dropped a chance standing up or back. His near faultless displays for the Welsh county almost won him a place on England`s Ashes tour in 1970/71. In the previous summer, the stocky wicket-keeper had claimed more victims than anyone else in the country, but like his older brother Alan, Eifion narrowly missed out on selection for the winter tour. In 1970 he established new club records by taking 94 victims in first-class cricket and making seven dismissals in an innings against Cambridge University at Cambridge. In 1968 he had also established a record for the highest score by a Glamorgan wicket-keeper, with 146* against Sussex during a partnership of 230 with his brother for the third wicket. Eifion also holds the record for the most number of appearances for Glamorgan in the Sunday League, playing on 212 occasions. During this time, he claimed a further 223 dismissals to take his tally in every form of cricket to over a thousand victims.

Latest Photos


Eifion Jones (Glamorgan)

Eifion Jones (Glamorgan)

© The Cricketer International

Aug 24, 1969

Glamorgan, who won the County Championship in 1969. Back:  H Jeffreys (scorer), Tony Cordle, Brian Lewis, Bryan Davis, Lawrence Williams, Eifion Jones, Roger Davis, Malcolm Nash.  Front: Majid Jahangir Khan, Ossie Wheatley, Peter Walker, Don Shepherd, Alan Jones, Lord's, August 24, 1969

The 1969 Glamorgan team

© PA Photos