Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2016, final, Bangalore May 29, 2016

Warner's high, Watson's low

Stats highlights from Sunrisers' eight-run win in the final of IPL 2016

David Warner finished second behind Virat Kohli for most runs in IPL 2016 © BCCI

6 Teams that have won the IPL; Sunrisers Hyderabad are the sixth, after Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Mumbai Indians. For Royal Challengers Bangalore, this was their third defeat in a final, after losses in 2009 and 2011.

6 IPL finals, out of nine, which have been won by the team batting first.

208 Sunrisers' total, the highest by a team batting first in an IPL final. It is the third 200-plus total by a team batting first in a final, and they have won each one: Super Kings scored 205 and beat Royal Challengers by 58 runs in 2011, while Mumbai Indians scored 202 and beat Super Kings by 41 runs in 2015.

61 Runs conceded by Shane Watson, the most he has conceded in a T20 game. His previous highest was 47, twice, in IPL games against Chennai Super Kings in 2010 and 2011. It is also the most runs conceded by a bowler this season.

24 Runs conceded by Watson in his fourth over, the second time he has conceded 24 in an over this season: he had also conceded 24 against Kolkata Knight Riders.

24 Balls for David Warner to get to his half-century, the joint fastest in an IPL final; Suresh Raina had scored one off as many balls in the 2010 final. Gayle got his off 25 balls, which is joint third in this list.

118 Runs scored by both teams in the Powerplay - both teams were 59 without loss after six. It is the highest combined Powerplay score in an IPL final: Knight Riders and Super Kings had scored 110 in the 2012 final.

18 Fifty-plus scores for Virat Kohli from 28 T20 innings in 2016, the most by any batsman in a calendar year. Gayle comes in next, with 16 fifty-plus scores from 38 innings in 2012.

973 Runs for Kohli this season, the most by any batsman in an IPL tournament. Warner's aggregate of 848 is second best, 115 more than Chris Gayle (2012) and Michael Hussey (2013).

76 Gayle's score, his first 50-plus score in a T20 final; in six previous finals, Gayle had scored 65 runs, with five single-digit scores and an unbeaten 47.

179 Runs for Watson from 15 innings this season, at an average of 13.76 and a strike rate of 13.58. He has only three 30-plus scores - with a highest of 36 - and has been dismissed for 15 or fewer nine times.

S Rajesh is stats editor of ESPNcricinfo. @rajeshstats