Ranji Trophy 2016-17, final January 14, 2017

Gujarat pull off record chase for maiden Ranji title

Stats highlights from Gujarat's maiden Ranji Trophy victory, which they achieved by chasing a target of 312 in the final against Mumbai in Indore

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

1 Ranji Trophy titles for Gujarat - this is their first. They had played a Ranji final only once previously, in 1950-51, when they lost to Holkar by 189 runs. Incidentally, both their finals were in Indore. Gujarat are the 17th team to win the Ranji Trophy. The last team to win a maiden title was Rajasthan in 2010-11.

1990-91 The last time Mumbai lost a Ranji Trophy final, against Haryana at the Wankhede, where they fell short by two runs chasing 355. The loss to Gujarat was only Mumbai's fifth out of 46 Ranji Trophy finals. Holkar, Delhi, Karnataka and Haryana are the other teams to have won finals against Mumbai.

312 Gujarat won their title by pulling off the highest successful chase in a Ranji Trophy final. The previous highest was Hyderabad's 310 against Nawanagar in 1937-38. There has been only one other successful chase of over 250 in a Ranji Trophy final - 255 by Baroda against Holkar in 1949-50.

Defeating Mumbai in a Ranji Trophy final
Team Victory margin Venue Season
 Holkar  9 wickets  Indore  1947-48
 Delhi  240 runs  Delhi  1979-80
 Karnataka  First-inns lead  Mumbai  1982-83
 Haryana  2 runs  Mumbai  1990-91
 Gujarat  5 wickets  Indore  2016-17

259 The previous highest target successfully chased by Gujarat, against Assam in 2003-04. Their fourth-innings score in the final - 313 for 5 - was only their second 300-plus score when chasing, and both have come in Ranji Trophy finals. They made 356 in their first final in 1950-51, when they were set a target of 546 by Holkar.

294 The previous highest successful chase against Mumbai - by Punjab in 2004-05. Gujarat beat that, after taking a first-innings lead in both their matches against Mumbai this season - 15 runs in Hubballi and 100 in the final. They are the first side to take a first-innings lead twice in a season against Mumbai in the last ten years.

143 Parthiv Patel's score in the fourth innings - the highest in a successful chase in a Ranji Trophy final, beating Edulji Aibara's 137 not out for Hyderabad in 1937-38. He had scored a century in last season's Vijay Hazare Trophy final as well - 105 against Delhi, his maiden List-A century.

5 Centuries for Parthiv against Mumbai in first-class matches - his most against any team. He hasn't scored more than two hundreds against any other team. He has 1283 runs in 25 innings against Mumbai, at an average of 53.45 with five centuries and five fifties.

6 for 121 Chintan Gaja's figures for Gujarat in the second innings. He had taken only one wicket in his two first-class games, bowling 63 overs, before this final. He took 2 for 46 in the first innings before taking his maiden five-for in the second innings. He had not played the quarter-final and the semi-final.

3 Domestic titles for Gujarat in the last three seasons. Before this Ranji Trophy title, they had won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2014-15 and Vijay Hazare Trophy in 2015-16. The only other major domestic title they had won was the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in 2012-13. Tamil Nadu, Baroda, Bengal and Uttar Pradesh are the only other teams to have won all these three trophies.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @SeerviBharath