Teams of the year January 3, 2018

Take them on if you dare

Graphics by Girish TS
ESPNcricinfo's staff picked their Test, ODI, T20 and women's teams of the year. Do they resemble yours?

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

The 2015 movie Jurassic World features a hybrid dinosaur made with DNA taken from sources as varied as the tyrannosaurus rex, velociraptor, giganotosaurus, cuttlefish, frog and pit viper snake. The resulting "Indominus rex" is a terrifying, unstoppable creature, that can do just about everything, much like our 2017 Test XI. The top five batsmen combined are good for 300 runs on average. If the contrasting styles of openers Dean Elgar and David Warner don't frustrate the opposition's bowlers, Cheteshwar Pujara certainly will. After which Steven Smith and Virat Kohli will set about destroying everything in front of them. The bowlers in the XI are incisive, asking questions, if not felling batsmen who stand in their way. James Anderson, of the 500-wicket club, and the new-and-improved Nathan Lyon will lead the attack, while Neil Wagner and Shakib Al Hasan provide left-arm fast and spin options.

In the movie, the hybrid monstrosity is eventually taken down by the original hero of the franchise, the T rex. Can your XI take down our Indominus?

Vote for your 2017 Test XI here

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

The ODI XI is just as imposing, led at the top by Rohit Sharma, the inveterate double-centurion, and boasting a bowling attack that takes wickets as a means of containment. Afghanistan legspinner Rashid Khan has a strike rate of 16.3, the highest for bowlers who have taken at least 20 wickets in the year; Hasan Ali is next, with 20.3. And even if the top order collapsed, Joe Root and Babar Azam are there to steady the innings before Ben Stokes and Hardik Pandya provide some lusty blows.

Vote for your 2017 ODI XI here

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

The T20 league cricketer's career today is as full-fledged as that of a centrally contracted international one - there are only three months this year when Brendon McCullum wasn't playing in a league, and only nine of his opening partner Evin Lewis' 32 T20s were for West Indies. They will provide an explosive start - having made 20 scores of 50-plus in 2017 - and lower down the order, allrounders Dan Christian and Kieron Pollard make for an explosive finish. Rashid Khan, Hasan Ali and Jasprit Bumrah feature in both the ODI and T20 XIs, as does Rohit Sharma, who captained Mumbai Indians to their third IPL title this year. A big name missing from the side is Chris Gayle, the first to 10,000 T20 runs. Does he make the cut for you?

Vote for your 2017 T20 XI here

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Our women's XI takes into account performances in both ODIs and T20s, including the WBBL and the Women's Super League in England. But Mithali Raj, who became the leading run scorer in ODIs this year and led India to their second World Cup final makes it to the side despite not having played the shortest format at all (as do Ekta Bisht and Deepti Sharma). Their team-mate Harmanpreet Kaur, India's T20I captain, is a WBBL star, but it's her spectacular batting performance in the World Cup semi-final against Australia that is her greatest feat so far. The same goes for England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole, who took the best figures ever in a World Cup final - 6 for 43 - to give her side their fourth title. South Africa's captain and legspinning allrounder Dane van Niekerk is the year's leading wicket-taker in ODIs; her 31 wickets include a World Cup spell of 4 for 0 - the first instance, in men's and women's internationals, of a bowler taking four or more wickets without conceding a run.

Vote for your 2017 Women's XI here