NZ Women seal 5-0 with another thrashing

New Zealand Women 102 for 2 (McGlashan 39) beat Sri Lanka Women 99 (Weerakkody 27, Bermingham 4-16, Bates 2-8, Peterson 2-9) by eight wickets

New Zealand Women completed a 5-0 thrashing of Sri Lanka Women with another solid win, of eight wickets, in the fifth and last match of the series in Christchurch. The visitors were bowled out for another paltry score for the fourth time in a row as legspinner Erin Bermingham took career-best figures of 4 for 16 and the hosts chased down their target of 100 in under 18 overs.

Sri Lanka got off to another slow start after opting to bat and started losing wickets in a flurry to the pacers once Sophie Devine broke the opening stand in the sixth over. They were soon 21 for 3 in the 12th over as captain Suzie Bates struck in consecutive overs. Only a brief stand of 27 between opener Prasadani Weerakkody (27) and Oshadi Ranasinghe took them towards 50 before they lost another three wickets for seven runs. After Prasadani, only two more batsmen could reach double-figures as Bermingham wiped the tail off with her four-for to dismiss Sri Lanka for 99 in 47.5 overs. Only one New Zealand bowler - Morna Nielsen - conceded at more than two runs per over.

With the series already won, New Zealand tried another opening partnership, with Devine and Sara McGlashan, who put on 49 in under nine overs before Devine fell for a brisk 26. McGlashan was stumped for a 34-ball 39 and Katie Peerkins and Liz Perry took them home with 195 balls to spare.

"There have been some excellent individual performances every game, milestones and significant team records broken," New Zealand coach Haidee Tiffen said.

Bates was also full of praises for her team for the all-round performances through the series. "The whole Series we've had different players stand up with personal bests, from Rachel Priest to Morna Nielsen to Erin today, so it's really nice to be able to take some time now to enjoy that and celebrate those achievements. Dominating with bat and ball has been really pleasing for the start of our summer."

The two teams will now a play three T20s starting November 15.