2nd T20I (N), West Indies tour of Zimbabwe and South Africa at Johannesburg, Jan 18 2008
(19.2/20 ov, target 132)
South Africa won by 4 wickets (with 4 balls remaining)
Player Of The Match
South Africa
West Indies Innings (20 overs maximum)
DS Smith run out (Ntini)1271320171.42
D Ramdin c Botha b M Morkel1926352173.07
MN Samuels c †Boucher b Ntini4781057.14
S Chanderpaul c Botha b Ontong1020390050.00
RS Morton  b Botha1218192066.66
DJ Bravo (c)c Duminy b Ntini24172302141.17
RN Lewis c de Villiers b Pollock044000.00
DJG Sammy not out1416241187.50
JE Taylor not out751201140.00
Extras(b 15, lb 9, w 5)29
TOTAL(20 Ov, RR: 6.55)131/7
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Devon Smith, 3.1 ov), 2-30 (Marlon Samuels, 5.2 ov), 3-41 (Denesh Ramdin, 7.5 ov), 4-58 (Runako Morton, 12.1 ov), 5-72 (Shivnarine Chanderpaul, 13.5 ov), 6-79 (Rawl Lewis, 14.4 ov), 7-101 (Dwayne Bravo, 17.4 ov)
SM Pollock401914.75153000
M Ntini402225.50162120
JA Morkel301103.66142000
M Morkel402215.50150210
J Botha30812.66100000
JL Ontong2025112.5021210
South Africa Innings (target: 132 runs from 20 overs)
HH Gibbs  b Taylor032000.00
GC Smith (c) b Taylor441300100.00
AB de Villiers c †Ramdin b Sammy25223740113.63
JP Duminy c Chanderpaul b Sammy13131820100.00
JL Ontong c Bravo b Sammy1416210087.50
MV Boucher c Lewis b Samuels617240035.29
SM Pollock not out36253522144.00
JA Morkel not out28162622175.00
Extras(lb 4, w 4)8
TOTAL(19.2 Ov, RR: 6.93)134/6
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Herschelle Gibbs, 0.3 ov), 2-17 (Graeme Smith, 2.2 ov), 3-38 (Jean-Paul Duminy, 5.6 ov), 4-51 (AB de Villiers, 7.3 ov), 5-66 (Justin Ontong, 11.3 ov), 6-77 (Mark Boucher, 13.5 ov)
JE Taylor402927.25124030
FH Edwards3.202206.60102110
DJG Sammy402135.25121000
R Rampaul402506.25111100
RN Lewis10909.0021000
MN Samuels302418.0081200
The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
TossSouth Africa , elected to field first
SeriesWest Indies tour of Zimbabwe and South Africa
Player Of The Match
Shaun Pollock
Series result2-match series drawn 1-1
Match numberT20I no. 51
Hours of play (local time)18.00 start, First Session 18.00-19.20 Interval 19.20-19.40, Second Session 19.40-21.00
Match days18 January 2008 - night match (20-over match)
T20 debut
Justin Ontong
Rawl Lewis
Rudi Koertzen
Brian Jerling
TV Umpire
Ian Howell
Reserve Umpire
Zed Ndamane
Match Referee
Javagal Srinath
West Indies innings
  • West Indies: 50 runs in 10.3 overs (65 balls), Extras 6
  • West Indies: 100 runs in 17.1 overs (107 balls), Extras 18
  • Innings Break: West Indies - 131/7 in 20.0 overs (DJG Sammy 14, JE Taylor 7)
South Africa innings
  • South Africa: 50 runs in 7.1 overs (47 balls), Extras 5
  • South Africa: 100 runs in 16.5 overs (105 balls), Extras 7
  • 7th Wicket: 50 runs in 30 balls (SM Pollock 28, JA Morkel 23, Ex 1)