1st ODI, England tour of New Zealand at Christchurch, Feb 18 1984
42.1/50 ov, target 189
England won by 54 runs
Player Of The Match
England Innings (50 overs maximum)
DI Gower c JJ Crowe b Hadlee311150027.27
CL Smith run out1768901125.00
AJ Lamb c Robertson b Hadlee43831143051.80
DW Randall c Cairns b Hadlee70851088082.35
IT Botham c †Smith b Hadlee1670016.66
MW Gatting  b Hadlee011000.00
VJ Marks lbw b Cairns2840633070.00
RW Taylor run out2390066.66
NA Foster c Wright b Cairns011000.00
NG Cowans not out42200200.00
Extras(b 8, lb 4, nb 8)20
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 3.76)188/9
Did not bat: RGD Willis 
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (David Gower), 2-59 (Chris Smith), 3-107 (Allan Lamb), 4-109 (Sir Ian Botham), 5-109 (Mike Gatting), 6-177 (Derek Randall), 7-184 (Vic Marks), 8-184 (Neil Foster), 9-188 (Bob Taylor)
Sir RJ Hadlee1023253.20---00
EJ Chatfield1042002.00---00
BL Cairns1024124.10---00
JV Coney1013003.00---00
GK Robertson1004504.50---00
New Zealand Innings (target: 189 runs from 50 overs)
JG Wright c †Taylor b Willis421200019.04
BA Edgar c †Taylor b Botham1034600029.41
GP Howarth (c)run out1847780038.29
MD Crowe run out025000.00
JJ Crowe  b Botham01013000.00
JV Coney c Botham b Foster1950772038.00
BL Cairns lbw b Marks2326292188.46
Sir RJ Hadlee c Gower b Marks2331392274.19
IDS Smith c Gower b Foster715170046.66
GK Robertson lbw b Willis10101700100.00
EJ Chatfield not out01310000.00
Extras(lb 9, nb 5, w 6)20
TOTAL(42.1 Ov, RR: 3.17)134
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (John Wright), 2-38 (Bruce Edgar), 3-38 (Martin Crowe), 4-38 (Jeff Crowe), 5-44 (Geoff Howarth), 6-76 (Lance Cairns), 7-112 (Jeremy Coney), 8-120 (Sir Richard Hadlee), 9-124 (Ian Smith), 10-134 (Gary Robertson)
RGD Willis6.111822.91---00
NG Cowans1023703.70---00
IT Botham63721.16---00
NA Foster1041921.90---00
VJ Marks1013323.30---00
AMI Stadium, Christchurch
TossNew Zealand , elected to field first
SeriesEngland tour of New Zealand 1983/84
Player Of The Match
Derek Randall
Series resultEngland led the 3-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 249
Match days18 February 1984 (50-over match)
Chris Smith
Neil Foster
Fred Goodall
Ian Higginson