1st ODI, Scarborough, Jul 15 1978, New Zealand tour of England and Netherlands
(55 ov, target 207)
England won by 19 runs
Player Of The Match
England Innings (55 overs maximum)
JM Brearley (c)c Burgess b Boock3179-2039.24
GA Gooch c Parker b Cairns94129-9272.86
CT Radley c Parker b Cairns4164-5064.06
DI Gower c Burgess b Cairns45-0080.00
IT Botham c Anderson b Cairns38-0037.50
GRJ Roope  b Cairns1117-1064.70
G Miller c †Edwards b Hadlee215-0013.33
RW Taylor lbw b Hadlee01-000.00
JK Lever not out58-0062.50
M Hendrick not out24-0050.00
Extras(b 2, lb 10, w 1)13
TOTAL(55 Ov, RR: 3.74)206/8
Did not bat: RGD Willis 
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Mike Brearley), 2-178 (Graham Gooch), 3-181 (Clive Radley), 4-185 (David Gower), 5-185 (Sir Ian Botham), 6-198 (Geoff Miller), 7-198 (Bob Taylor), 8-198 (Graham Roope)
Sir RJ Hadlee1132222.00---00
RO Collinge1104604.18---00
BL Cairns1132852.54---00
BE Congdon1122502.27---00
SL Boock915716.33---00
GP Howarth201507.50---00
New Zealand Innings (target: 207 runs from 55 overs)
JG Wright run out1842-1042.85
RW Anderson c †Taylor b Hendrick1224-1050.00
GP Howarth c †Taylor b Hendrick4288-3047.72
MG Burgess (c) b Botham17-0014.28
JM Parker  b Willis716-1043.75
GN Edwards c Gower b Gooch1214-1085.71
Sir RJ Hadlee st †Taylor b Gooch111-009.09
BE Congdon not out5276-6068.42
BL Cairns run out2344-1052.27
RO Collinge not out58-0062.50
Extras(lb 13, w 1)14
TOTAL(55 Ov, RR: 3.4)187/8
Did not bat: SL Boock 
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Robert Anderson), 2-43 (John Wright), 3-51 (Mark Burgess), 4-62 (John Parker), 5-91 (Jock Edwards), 6-97 (Sir Richard Hadlee), 7-105 (Geoff Howarth), 8-173 (Lance Cairns)
RGD Willis1113513.18---00
M Hendrick1113523.18---00
JK Lever1122502.27---00
IT Botham1114313.90---00
G Miller10606.00---00
GA Gooch1012922.90---00
North Marine Road Ground, Scarborough
TossNew Zealand , elected to field first
SeriesNew Zealand tour of England and Netherlands
Player Of The Match
Graham Gooch
Series resultEngland led the 2-match series 1-0
Match numberODI no. 52
Match days15 July 1978 (55-over match)
ODI debut
John Wright
Stephen Boock
David Constant
John Langridge