6th Match (D/N), Coca-Cola Cup at Sharjah, Apr 22 1998
46/46 ov, target 276
Australia won by 26 runs (revised target)
Player Of The Match
Australia Innings (50 overs maximum)
AC Gilchrist c †Mongia b Harvinder Singh1113201084.61
ME Waugh c Ganguly b Tendulkar81991257281.81
RT Ponting st †Mongia b Harbhajan Singh31264041119.23
DR Martyn  b Kumble1330033.33
MG Bevan not out1011031389098.05
SR Waugh (c)run out (Tendulkar)1016201062.50
DS Lehmann  b Prasad2627312096.29
TM Moody c Azharuddin b Prasad510180050.00
SK Warne not out74610175.00
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 6)11
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.68)284/7
Did not bat: MS Kasprowicz, DW Fleming 
Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Adam Gilchrist, 3.6 ov), 2-84 (Ricky Ponting, 13.6 ov), 3-87 (Damien Martyn, 14.6 ov), 4-177 (Mark Waugh, 31.4 ov), 5-197 (Steve Waugh, 36.4 ov), 6-250 (Darren Lehmann, 44.3 ov), 7-271 (Tom Moody, 48.4 ov)
BKV Prasad804125.12---21
Harvinder Singh704416.28---00
A Kumble1004114.10---10
Harbhajan Singh806317.87---10
SC Ganguly201507.50---00
HH Kanitkar603305.50---10
VVS Laxman401604.00---10
SR Tendulkar502715.40---00
India Innings (target: 276 runs from 46 overs)
SC Ganguly lbw b Fleming1732382053.12
SR Tendulkar c †Gilchrist b Fleming14313118795109.16
NR Mongia c ME Waugh b Moody3546554176.08
M Azharuddin (c) b Moody1420240070.00
A Jadeja c †Gilchrist b SR Waugh1540020.00
VVS Laxman not out2334751067.64
HH Kanitkar not out514120035.71
Extras(lb 5, nb 4, w 3)12
TOTAL(46 Ov, RR: 5.43)250/5
Did not bat: A Kumble, Harvinder Singh, BKV Prasad, Harbhajan Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Sourav Ganguly, 8.3 ov), 2-107 (Nayan Mongia, 21.5 ov), 3-135 (Mohammad Azharuddin, 27.5 ov), 4-138 (Ajay Jadeja, 28.6 ov), 5-242 (Sachin Tendulkar, 42.6 ov)
DW Fleming1004624.60---01
MS Kasprowicz905506.11---13
SK Warne903904.33---00
TM Moody904024.44---11
SR Waugh906517.22---10
Sharjah Cricket Stadium
TossAustralia , elected to bat first
SeriesSharjah Cup (various sponsors)
Player Of The Match
Sachin Tendulkar
Match numberODI no. 1325
Match days22 April 1998 - day/night match (50-over match)
Steve Bucknor
Ian Robinson
TV Umpire
Javed Akhtar
Match Referee
Talat Ali
PointsAustralia 2, India 0
India required 254 to pass New Zealand on net run rate, and qualify
  • for the final.
Sand storm disrupted the play by about 25 minutes. Indian target
  • after the break was 276 to win in 46 overs, or 237 in 46
  • to qualify for the final.