4th Match, Vadodara, Feb 17 1996, Wills World Cup
(50 ov, target 308)
New Zealand won by 119 runs
Player Of The Match
New Zealand
New Zealand Innings (50 overs maximum)
CM Spearman c Zuiderent b Lubbers68597780115.25
NJ Astle run out055000.00
SP Fleming c Zuiderent b Lubbers6679974083.54
RG Twose st †Schewe b Lubbers2532341078.12
CL Cairns  b Cantrell52375442140.54
AC Parore c Clarke b Aponso55555703100.00
CZ Harris c †Schewe b Bakker812200066.66
LK Germon (c) †not out14111910127.27
DN Patel c †Schewe b Bakker1110810110.00
DK Morrison not out00100-
Extras(lb 7, w 1)8
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 6.14)307/8
Did not bat: RJ Kennedy 
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Nathan Astle), 2-117 (Craig Spearman), 3-155 (Stephen Fleming), 4-165 (Roger Twose), 5-253 (Chris Cairns), 6-279 (Adam Parore), 7-292 (Chris Harris), 8-306 (Dipak Patel)
RP Lefebvre1004804.80---00
PJ Bakker1005125.10---00
TBM de Leede705808.28---10
GJAF Aponso1006016.00---00
SW Lubbers904835.33---00
PE Cantrell403518.75---00
Netherlands Innings (target: 308 runs from 50 overs)
NE Clarke  b Kennedy1421232066.66
PE Cantrell c Astle b Harris45861155052.32
GJAF Aponso c Astle b Harris1131402035.48
SW Lubbers (c)run out519230026.31
RP Lefebvre  b Kennedy4564763070.31
TBM de Leede lbw b Harris14100025.00
KJJ van Noortwijk not out3654713066.66
MMC Schewe st †Germon b Fleming1216241075.00
B Zuiderent not out1640016.66
Extras(b 3, lb 5, nb 2, w 8)18
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 3.76)188/7
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Nolan Clarke), 2-52 (Flavian Aponso), 3-66 (Steven Lubbers), 4-100 (Peter Cantrell), 5-102 (Tim de Leede), 6-147 (Roland Lefebvre), 7-181 (Marcel Schewe)
DK Morrison411102.75---00
RJ Kennedy1023623.60---41
CL Cairns712403.42---01
CZ Harris1012432.40---00
DN Patel1004304.30---00
NJ Astle502004.00---00
SP Fleming20814.00---00
RG Twose201407.00---40
Reliance Stadium, Vadodara
TossNew Zealand , elected to bat first
SeriesWills World Cup 1996
Player Of The Match
Craig Spearman
Match numberODI no. 1051
Match days17 February 1996 (50-over match)
ODI debut
Nolan Clarke
Peter Cantrell
Flavian Aponso
Steven Lubbers
Roland Lefebvre
Tim de Leede
Klaas-Jan van Noortwijk
Marcel Schewe
Bas Zuiderent
Eric Gouka
Paul-Jan Bakker
Khizer Hayat
Ian Robinson
TV Umpire
Shakeel Khan
Match Referee
Nawab of Pataudi
PointsNew Zealand 2, Netherlands 0
1st ever ODI for the Netherlands
  • 1st ever ODI at the IPCL (Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Ltd) Sports Complex
NJ Astle 100 and 0 in consecutive innings
  • CM Spearman 68 off 59 balls, 76 minutes, 8x4 0x6.
  • 4 out of the last 5 players in the Netherlands batting order did not bowl a ball
  • SP Fleming 1st wicket in ODIs (39th match)