North Division

Yorkshire suffered a thumping six-wicket defeat at the hands of their Roses rivals, Lancashire, at Old Trafford, as Ashwell Prince guided his team to a meagre target of 106 with 4.3 overs to spare. After winning the toss, Yorkshire lost Andrew Gale to Faff du Plessis' first delivery of the match, and never recovered their poise, even though Michael Vaughan flickered briefly with 36 from 31 balls. In particular, they were tied down by the spin pairing of Gary Keedy and Stephen Parry, who claimed five wickets for 43 in their combined eight overs. Deon Kruis struck back for Yorkshire with two wickets in his first three overs, but Prince's 44 from 34 balls took Lancashire to within a single blow of victory, before Tom Smith sealed the contest with an unbeaten 22.

Chris Rogers and Garry Park clubbed a pair of 50s in a second-wicket stand of 95, as Derbyshire launched their Twenty20 campaign with an impressive 59-run win against Durham at Chester-le-Street. With Stuart Law chiming in with 42 from 25 balls - ten of which were scored with his pioneering Mongoose bat - Derbyshire posted a healthy 175 for 6, having overcome the second-ball dismissal of Greg Smith by Graham Onions. In reply Tom Lungley struck twice in two balls to destabilise the run-chase, and Durham shipped wickets at regular intervals thereafter. Though Phil Mustard and Kyle Coetzer briefly stemmed the collapse with a fourth-wicket stand of 49, Durham's last seven wickets fell for 45, with Park capping his day's work with two wickets in his first over.

South Division

Luke Wright warmed up for England's World Twenty20 campaign with 58 from 46 balls, as Sussex overcame their local rivals, Surrey by 21 runs at The Oval. Wright's hard-hitting innings, however, was eclipsed by Chris Nash's brutal 40 from 16 balls, which gave his team a flying start as they posted a healthy 184 for 9. In reply, Surrey lost their matchwinner against Middlesex, Usman Afzaal, for 2, and then their man of the moment, Mark Ramprakash, who rushed along to 23 from 13 balls before being bowled by Michael Yardy. Scott Newman clubbed his way to 38 from 29 balls before becoming Yardy's second victim, and Yardy added a third when Matt Spriegel was also bowled for 3. Stewart Walters resisted bravely, but when he fell for 34 from 20 balls, Surrey's last chance went with him.