Permaul, Santokie star in Guyana win

Guyana Amazon Warriors 155 for 5 (Simmons 42) beat Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel 136 for 9 (Pooran 54, Permaul 3-32) by 19 runs
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

A disciplined bowling performance by the Guyana Amazon Warriors, led by left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul's 3 for 32, helped them win their opening match of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League against Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel by 19 runs in Providence.

T&T won the toss and put Guyana in to bat, but they couldn't contain the Guyanese openers Lendl Simmons and Martin Guptill who added 74 runs for the first wicket. The partnership was eventually broken by Samuel Badree when he got Guptill leg before for 32.

With the score at 102 for 2, Simmons had helped Guyana set a platform for a big finish. T&T captain Dwayne Bravo, however, thwarted those plans with two wickets in the 16th over, accounting for Simmons (42) and Christopher Barnwell, who fell for a second ball-duck. Narsingh Deonarine was dismissed in the next over to leave Guyana at 106 for 5. Late fireworks from Ramnaresh Sarwan, who struck 21 off 12 balls, and James Franklin, who scored a 20-ball 26, ensured Guyana reached a competitive total of 155 for 5.

T&T's innings started steadily, as the openers had added 28 runs before Hafeez fell in the sixth over. Justin Guillen (22) and Darren Bravo (23) got starts, but were unable to guide the chase. Permaul, who came in to bowl in the ninth over, had immediate success, dismissing Davy Jacobs off the sixth ball of his first over. Ross Taylor's dismissal in Permaul's next over had T&T struggling at 50 for 3, with 106 needed off 57 balls.

Wicketkeeper Nicolas Pooran, blitzed a 24-ball 54, which included six sixes, to keep T&T's chase alive. But the wickets of Darren and Dwayne Bravo increased the pressure on Pooran and he perished in the 18th over, holing out to Mohammad Hafeez near long-off. T&T finished their innings at 136 for 9, 19 runs short of the target.

Red Steel 2nd innings Partnerships

1st28DJ JacobsJC Guillen
2nd18DJ JacobsDM Bravo
3rd4LRPL TaylorDM Bravo
4th43DM BravoN Pooran
5th12DJ BravoN Pooran
6th19KJ O'BrienN Pooran
7th7KJ O'BrienKK Cooper
8th0S BadreeKJ O'Brien
9th5SJ BennS Badree
10th0S BadreeML Cummins