New South Wales 7 for 291 (Warner 97, Cowan 64) tied with Tasmania 8 for 291 (Dighton 87, Birt 67, Marsh 52)

Tasmania regrouped brilliantly after the New South Wales opener David Warner blasted 97 from 54 balls, taking four wickets in the last ten overs, but Aaron Bird kept his cool to clinch a last-ball tie at Bellerive Oval. Tasmania had set the Blues 292 and Warner's innings carried plenty of weight a week after he made history with 165 at Sydney's Hurstville Oval.

Warner produced more fantastic hitting to get the Blues off to a flier, despite the loss of Phillip Hughes for 17, and blasted 15 fours and two sixes while scoring at a strike-rate of 180. He was cut three runs short of what could have been the fastest century in the competition when beaten for flight by Xavier Doherty in the 17th over, although replays indicated the ball would have missed leg stump.

By the half-way mark the Blues' run-rate was over seven but the wickets of Ed Cowan (64) and the captain Dominic Thornely (46) gave Tasmania hope. The Blues lost 4 for 30 between the 42nd and 49th overs and only managed two boundaries in the last ten. Brendan Drew was particularly impressive with his slower deliveries and yorkers and had 2 for 36.

With 13 needed from six balls, Ben Hilfenhaus was taken for a single, a two, a thick edge for four, and two more singles. Bird, the No. 9, was on strike with four required off the last delivery and he heaved it over mid-on. The three runs resulted in only the sixth tie in the competition's history.

Michael Dighton (87), Travis Birt (67) and Daniel Marsh (52) scored half-centuries in Tasmania's impressive 8 for 291. Dighton and Marsh added 60 before Henriques dismissed Dighton lbw and prevented his century.

Marsh was more watchful than Birt, who hit six boundaries and a couple sixes, until he backed away to try and smash Nathan Bracken for six and was caught at long-on by Nathan Hauritz. Doug Bollinger (3 for 39) and Henriques (3 for 56) were the most successful wicket-takers for the Blues. The result put Tasmania into second position while the Blues stay second last.